Inna Scribbles


Pooped (all meals 05/27/09)
May 27, 2009, 3:26 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals

It’s only a little past 7 and I can barely keep my eyes open! I am so totally and completely pooped after today’s crazy hectic workday. I’m really lucky with my job being flexible so I rarely work many hours straight- there’s always little breaks here and there for tea and random chit-chats with coworkers. But today was go go go from 7:30 on. After eating breakfast, I drove 1.5 hours to prison #1 and did interview #1. Then I drove another 1.5 hours to prison #2 for interviews #2, #3, and #4 which took a grand total of 4 hours. And then it was another 1 hour drive back home. I am seriously considering going to bed at like 8.

I decided I needed a really filling breakfast to give me a good headstart on fueling me for the long day. So oats it was ๐Ÿ™‚ Luckily it was gray and dreary out unlike the really warm weather we’ve been having lately so the oatmeal sounded really appealing. I decided on peanut butter and jelly oats, an idea I’ve seen on another blog but I can’t find the entry to it right now…I think it was Lauren’s blog? Either way, thanks to whoever it was for the genius creation- it was so yummy! For my bowl I used: 1/3 cup oats, 1/3 cup water, 1/3 cup skim milk, 1 banana, 1 T Barney butter, 1 T strawberry jam.

CIMG4482

I ate about 3/4 of this, and even that took a lot of effort! It tasted delicious, but it’s also insanely filling. I think when I add mix-ins like nut butters I really can only handle 1/4 cup of oats…

I did the best I could with lunch. It had to be eaten on the drive from prison #1 to prison #2 so it needed to be easy to drive while eating. You know what? Not too many healthy foods (or at least foods you can put together into nutritionally balanced MEALS) are driving friendly. I did the best I could with a bag of soy crisps, a south beach diet bar, and an apple:

CIMG4481CIMG4469CIMG4468

So you know how I said dinner last night was amazing and you’d be seeing it again real soon? Here you go! It was my dinner again tonight…

CIMG4480

And with that I’m off kiddos. Hopefully I’ll be back much more well rested tomorrow!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I used to have trouble finishing 1/3 cup of oats too (although I always managed ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) but now I’ve worked up to 1/2 cup. So weird how our bodies adjust.
I think you did well with eating on the go ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by Elina

Hang in there with work…the weekend will be here soon! I know you’re moving and that will be exhausting too, but at least Ryan will be with you and you’ll feel better after getting the move done and over with! ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by Lara (Thinspired)

Woah, what a crazy bizzy day. You poor thing!

Comment by Erin

[…] a variation of this combo before but I think Friday’s oats were the best thus far (thank you, Inna, for reminding me of PB&J oats ). In the bowl: 1/2 cup rolled oats made with 1/2 cup of […]

Pingback by Health kick




Leave a Reply

