Inna Scribbles


Fingers Crossed! (all meals 05/26/09)
May 26, 2009, 6:37 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals

Hey everyone- hope your memorial day weekends were great!I had the perfect balance of a part relaxing, part productive 3 day weekend. I packed and moved some stuff to our new place, went to a pool part, hiked with an adorable toddler and puppy, and went out to eat lots of food with the wonderful Sue. Ok, maybe more relaxing than productive, but I still did some work! Today I hit the ground running hard, and had a super productive day at work. It’s so much easier to get stuff done knowing there is only 4 weekdays! I think this is something emplyers should seriously look into. Tomorrow is going to be crazy busy and productive as well- I have 2 separate prisons to go to for a total of 4 visits (1 at the first prison, 3 at the second). The catch is that the prisons are about 60 miles away from each other, and 70-75 miles away from my home, so there is a lot of driving and visiting to squeeze into one little workday! I have no doubt I’ll be working overtime tomorrow 🙂

Back to today, I woke up to what was a brilliantly filling breakfast: 1% cottage cheese and an apple-cranberry bran muffin (the TJ’s kind that’s only 100 calories but 13 grams of fiber!). My plate progression:

CIMG4470

Then of course I had to crumble the muffin:

CIMG4471

And then I thought the cottage cheese could be like frosting so I mixed it all up:

CIMG4472

I thought I would LOVE this combo, but to be honest it was a bit too dense for me. I really should have added fruit to lighten it up. Despite it being quite light calorie-wise, I could only finish about 3/4 tops and it held me over forever. I think grapes (or some other kind of juicy fruit) would have been the perfect addition to this to make it a really satisfying meal for my tastebuds- it felt a little too dry…

After lunch I headed over to do some jail visits and returned in time to gobble some subway for my lunch. I had my usual- turkey and every veggies (except olives) with vinegar- no cheese or mayo. I love how the vinegar makes this sandwich so moist while still keeping it healthy, but i think I’ve been enjoying it a little too often…my wallet and waistline both like me to cook more often.

CIMG4473

Dinner was freaking brilliantly good, and oh so simple. I found some wonderful whole wheat tortillas at Shaw’s that are only 70 calories but boast 6 grams of fiber! That was the base. For the innards (ew, what a gross word) I roasted up some garlicky veggies- eggplant, onion, squash, and bell pepper. While that was a cookin, I made some “mockamole” that I read about on Tina’s, Elina’s, Shannon’s, and Lauren’s blogs (the links to their posts are here, here, here, and here). This is a birlliant concept- mix guacamole with peas to cut down on fat and add nutrients. Plus, it lends an awesome texture and delicate sweetness to the guacamole, which I loved. Why has no one thought of this before?? After I finished making the mockamole, I melted a piece of fat free cheese onto one of the tortillas and spread it with the deliciousness:

CIMG4477

Pile with roast veggies on top and viola!

CIMG4480

Holy deliciousness. I piled too many veggies in to wrap it up, so a knife and fork it was. That and my hands 🙂 You will soooooo being seeing this again soon. Like, probably tomorrow.

Alright folks, I’m going to start winding down and prepping myself for the craziness that is sure to ensue tomorrow with all those visits. Keep your fingers crossed for me!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for the shout out 🙂 Glad you liked the mockamole. I actually just read yesterday in a new cookbook I got for my bday that the best “mockamole” is made with frozen lima beans. I’ll have to try that soon. Sounds yum 🙂

Comment by Elina

Mockamole with peas sounds good! I’ve been doing it with cottage cheese, which doesn’t look as pretty but it’s nice and creamy 🙂
Good luck with the move!

Comment by Lara (Thinspired)

i need to try the mockamole! and mmm subway!! i don’t know why but i only like vinegar in my sandwiches from subway…if i try it at home/ or anywhere else it doesn’t taste as great. i’m going to the shower on sunday…let me know when u want to get korean (YAY!)…i can wait if u wanna get others to join us.

Comment by sue




Leave a Reply

