Inna Scribbles


Passing the Time (all melas 05/11/09 and 05/12/09)
May 12, 2009, 7:11 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Hey all! Sorry my posting’s been a bit sporadic- I am trying to fill up every minute of my spare time with fun stuff to do while Ryan’s gone so I don’t think about how much I miss him. It’s not working very well. I miss him so much, and it’s only been 3 days since he’s left. I know it’s pathetic and I’m a big whiner but at least I gave you guys a fair warning this would happen, right?

Anyway, I had an absolutely lovely day with Alisa yesterday. We slept in late, really late, and then bummed around for a looooong time. So there was no breakfast. But there was a delicious lunch. Alisa wanted an egg salad sandwich and I wanted tuna salad but in the end we ended up trading half of each of our sandwiches with each other- it was the perfect way to get a taste of everything and leave my mouth perfectly satisfied. Lunch: 1/2 an arnold’s whole wheat sandwich thin with egg salad, half with tuna salad- both made using a dollop of light mayo.

CIMG4308

On the side we had a lovely salad of mixed greens, tomato, bell pepper, and cucumber dressed in a little EVOO, balsamic, and s&p.

CIMG4307

I was STUFFED but somehow not too long after I managed to find room for some perfectly firm and sweet red grapes. These really put me over the edge in terms of fullness.

CIMG4309

After we were done being bums we walked. Quite a bit actually- 8 miles in total but it was broken up. We walked the 4 miles from Porter Square to the Newbury street area where we meandered around and enjoyed the sunshine. A little more shopping was done if truth be told. Eventually we felt a little munchy so we settled in for some wine and appetizers. I can’t remember the name of the wine I ordered but it was asauvignon blanc from Australia and it was SO FREAKING GOOD. I wish I could remember what it was called! Alisa got a peach Sangria which was also super tasty. And to fully indulge, we shared a cheese plate that was pure deliciousness:

CIMG4319

My wine on the right, her sangria on the left, and our cheese, almond, and apricot plate front and center. It came with a bread basket (not pictured).ย  About halfway through eating this Alisa asked me if I realized I was making “mmmmmmm” noises every time I took a bite of something and I honestly truly didn’t realize I was doing it. That’s how good this was. A truely wonderful indulgence that was worth every second of “mmmmming.” Me enjoying my wine and looking slightly sleepy:

CIMG4315

And Alisa being a big cutie:

CIMG4316

Us being goofy with some cheese bites:

CIMG4322

We hit up a bowling alley before walking back home. We actually didn’t end up having dinner yesterday since we had the wine and cheese plate kinda late and were both still stuffed at 11 pm. Or I guess that was dinner? Whatever it was, it was good.

For whatever reason though, I could NOT fall asleep last night, Now I usually don’t have trouble with this. In fact, I am a tremendously talented and fabulous sleeper (if I do say so myself). But something weird was up (maybe I just wanted Ryan in bed with me? There goes that whining again….) and I could not get to sleep. I finally dozed off around 6:30 am so it’s no wonder getting up was impossible. I snoozed to the very last minute, grabbed a yogurt to eat at the office, and ran out the door. So that, my friends, was breakfast:

CIMG4331

Alisa met up with me for lunch before catching her bus to NY. We went to…Subway! Ok but really, it’s one of the only healthy-ish options in a food court wich was all we had time for. I got the usual- turkey on honey oat with TONS of veggies and vinegar. Yum!

CIMG4333

And a not so great orange for dessert:

CIMG4335

We said our goodbyes and I went back to work. Around 4 pm my boss buzzed me and asked me to come into her office. I was terrified- I had no idea what I’d done wrong. I walked down the hall, heart pounding, only to find my coworkers standing around a table in our conference room yelling “surprise!” They had planned a surprise engagement party for me, and had bought cheesecake and champagne to celebrate. How freaking amazingly nice is that?

CIMG4338

I can’t tell you how happy this made me. It was so nice to be able to celebrate something I am so excited about. Of course I had to have a slice, and enjoyed some bubble with it as well:

CIMG4342

And there went my dinner appetite. Again, it’s 11 pm and I’m not hungry at all. Oh well. Cake for dinner? Yes please! I’ll try to make tomorrow a little more nutritious…Night everyone! Thanks for reading!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m sorry you’re missing Ryan already ๐Ÿ˜ฆ At least you are passing the time with fun stuff and some good eats. The cheese plate looks particularly awesome with the wine.

Comment by Lara (Thinspired)

I would miss Adam too. I don’t think we’ve been apart for more than a few days since we started dating.
Where did you have that wine + cheese? The place looks fabulous!
And your co-workers are so sweet. What a great surprise ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by Elina

SO FUNNY…your face is so blushed in that last picture!

I can’t believe you walked that far. I live only about 20 minutes from Newbury and I still take the T. You are a walking machine.

Comment by macduff

Elina- I wish i could remember what the place was called! It was on Newbury street towards the very end, just about 2 doors down from the dunkin donuts (basically right across the street from trident cafe).

Macduff- I was blushing! My cheeks are normally very rosy, but much more so when all the attention is focused on me ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by innascribbles

mmm cheese plate! looks like you’re at sonsie!

Comment by sue




Leave a Reply

