Inna Scribbles


Honey, I’m Home (Israel Recap Part I)
April 30, 2009, 6:30 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

A big hello to anyone who is possibly still with me after such a long hiatus! I am back from Israel as of yesterday and more than ready to get back to blogging. I really missed it, but with all the guest visits prior to the trip and not having a computer with me in Israel it really was impossible. But now I’m home with regular internet access and have no more excuses πŸ™‚

Speaking of being home, I arrived to a very nice surprise. Actually a few very nice surprises. Ryan woke up in the wee hours of the morning to pick me up from the airport and brought me some blackberries to munch on for the ride home. He also brought me a cactus plant. Yes, you read that right. We’re kinda weird. I came across another nice surprise when I checked my cellphone voicemail after being out of the country for 12 days and got a message from my gym that I won 3 free personal training sessions!!! I entered to win the day before I left by agreeing to have my body fat composition measured (it was on the border between good and excellent in case you’re curious). I told the guy measuring it to pick me and he said he would and then he did! My first session is tomorrow, though it’ll really be more like an assessment and then we’ll have 2 real sessions together. I’m so excited to work on some strength training- I’ve been avoiding it and I know I shouldn’t be so hopefully this will give me the motivation to get back into it.

On another note, I think I’m going to use these next couple of days to blog about interesting food in Israel rather than blog my meals. When I’m all caught up with that, I’ll resume the regular meal posting. I didn’t take a ton of photos, but I tried to take photos of new exciting things I thought you guys might find interesting. One interesting thing of note is that I ate much more vegetarian-y while in Israel. In fact, I ate completely vegetarian for my first 5 or 6 days there and then had other vegetarian days scattered throughout. I didn’t make a conscious effort to do this, but it kinda worked out that way and I gotta say I really enjoyed it! My tummy just feels a lot better when I don’t eat much meat so I think I’m going to try to cut back on it and find other ways of incorporating protein into my diet-hopefully it shouldn’t be too hard.

Since this post is already pretty long and it’s late here, tonight I’m going to do just a quick little recap of something in Israel for you. I discovered a new fruit while I was there. An amazingly delicious wonderful fruit that I sadly don’t think we have in the USA but if you know otherwise please tell me! If I remember correctly it’s called a “shesik” in Hebrew? Here’s a bowl of a bunch of the little beauties:

cimg4168

Consistency wise, the shesik is kind of like an apricot. But it’s more sour, and has that wonderful sweetness and tartness combination I so love in my fruit. And it’s oh so juicy. And typing this is really hard because I want to eat one right now and I can’t. Here’s what it looks like after a bite or two in:

cimg4173

Inside each shesik are about 5-6 brown-colored slippery pits. This means when you eat just 2 or 3 of these shesiks and look at the number of pits in front of you, you feel like a pig because it seems like you’ve eaten a lot more than that! Don’t worry, this did not deter me. I could eat like 8 of these in one sitting. And I did πŸ™‚Β  After I tried these for the first time just 2 days into my trip, we bought some every single day for the rest of my time in Israel. If you ever go to somewhere that sells these, try them! And if you know if and where I can buy them in the States please share any insight!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Inna! That is so awesome about the personal training sessions! I am working on my strength training, too. Cardio has basically been out for a week 😦 We need to catch up.
That’s cool about your veggie eats–was it all that hummus that helped? πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see/hear all about your trip.
No, I’ve never heard of a shesik but they look like a fun food to eat!
So glad you’re back!

Comment by Lara (Thinspired)

YAY!! i’m so glad you’re back inna! you should totally go to puma city on saturday! i’m not sure if tom is going, but nay and i will definitely be there!
can’t wait to hear more about your trip!

Comment by sue

The SHESEK can be found in Southern California, around Los Angeles. Most people don’t know that you can eat it or how delicious it is. So, if you’re in the LA area, drive around in the valley & keep your eyes open. They are in season now.

Comment by lana




Leave a Reply

