Inna Scribbles


Kind Words From Strangers (all meals 04/09/09)
April 9, 2009, 7:03 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals, Snack

Hey guys! I’m really tired tonight and dying to get to sleep so I’m going to try to make this post quick but we all know how that usually works out. Marina left this afternoon and tomorrow morning we have friends from DC flying in and staying with us for a couple of days, followed by Ryan’s sister flying in a few hours after our friends fly out and then me going to Israel for a vacation. I’m looking forward to all of it, but I gotta say that last one is reallyyyy exciting.

I had a ton of really delicious food today. In fact, everything I put in my mouth was pretty fantastic. Love days like that. But let’s start at the beginning- for breakfast Marina made me a smoothie she’s been raving about. It’s made with soy milk, 100% orange juice, avocado, and honey. This combo was absolutely delicious and you’ll definitely be seeing me make this again!

cimg4120

I was a good worker bunny all through the morning. Before hitting up the gym during my lunch break, I fueled myself with an orange and 1/2 of a PB cookie larabar:

cimg4121cimg4123

A really nice thing happened at the gym today- a girl who takes a lot of the same classes as I do (steps, bootcamp) came up to me in the locker room and said “Hey, I just want to tell you that you look really really great. You look just fantastic.” We’ve been taking the same classes for a while so I know she saw me when I was a bit heavier than I am now and I can only assume she was comparing the then to the now. Either way, that very simple comment completely made my day. I love kind words from strangers-something so effortless has such a big effect, and I wish I could tell her how grateful I am that she took the time to think to say that to me, I wish I could tell her how happy it made me. Unfortunately, I can’t take a compliment so I just turned beat red and mumbled thank you under my breath. I really need to work on that. Her comment really pumped me up and motivated me to work soooooo hard in steps class today- I can’t remember the last time I was so sweaty. I also worked on arms (biceps and triceps) and abs.

I came back to a fantastic lunch of dhal (indian lentils) that I made per the recipe that Sue and I learned when we took the vegetarian Indian cooking class. Actually it was leftover from last night’s dinner that I made which included both the palak paneer (Indian cheese in spinach) and green mung dhal (lentils). There are TONS of leftovers (I cooked for a small army for some reason) so you’ll be seeing a lot of them to come I’m sure. I’m more than happy to eat them though, because both dishes came out delicious. I was pretty darn proud of myself. Oh, be warned that this doesn’t photograph very pretty. But when it tastes this good, it’s worth the sacrafice:

cimg4124

I ate about half of this- lentils are so filling! Of course I always have room for a little somethin’ somethin’ sweet, so I finished of lunch was some super juicy pineapple:

cimg4127

I was a bit munchy when I got home from work and dinner wasn’t going to be until late-ish tonight so I snack on some bell pepper and hummus to tide me over:

cimg4128

For dinner I made a recipe from another class Sue and I took together, this time the low fat, low carb class we took. I finally found ground chicken at the supermarket, so I decided to give those delicious spicy chicken cakes a whirl. Can I just say what a great decision that was? These turned out fan-freakin-tastic. Sue (and anyone else in the Boston area that’s interested), we definitely need to sign up for more classes! I served my chicken cake along side a salad:

cimg4132

The chicken cake was pretty big, so I ate just a little less than half. And allllll of the salad πŸ™‚ What a wonderful dinner- Ryan gave it a big thumbs up too.

Oh, I’ve been meaning to mention this- for about the next week or so you’ll be seeing a very noticeable decline of whole grains in my food intake. This is because it is Passover so I can’t eat bread or bread products (i.e.- pasta, oatmeal, pita, etc). Therefore my whole grains are limited to things like rice, etc. Oh, and whole wheat matza which I need to buy more of ASAP. So just FYI, I’m not banning grains from my diet even though it may seem like it. I’ll have to find creative ways to keep getting in lots of fiber- fruits and veggies are a great start but I’ll try to think of other additions. Any ideas?

And with that I’m off to bed. Night guys, thanks for reading!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

that smoothie sounds REALLY good! i need to try that. and i need to get on cooking some of the indian dishes already! that’s so awesome about the compliment! YAY πŸ˜€

Comment by sue

That is so awesome about the girl at the gym πŸ™‚ I bet you DO look awesome. On top of being awesome in general. It makes it extra-special that it is from a stranger. That means is MUST be true πŸ™‚

Comment by Lara (Thinspired)

AWWWHHHH that is soo sweet of that compliment from her!

Comment by Sharon

pb Lara bar is hands down my favorite!

Comment by Bec




Leave a Reply

