Inna Scribbles


Heading Home (all meals 04/05/09)
April 5, 2009, 9:07 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Lunch, Meals, Snack

Hello from the Myrtle Beach, South Carolina airport! Yay for free wireless internet at airports- I think all airports should start adopting this practice. I had a little extra time so i figured I’d start writing this post, though I probably won’t be able to upload the pictures and post until we’re back home in Boston around 1 am- I’m definitely going to have a hard time staying awake at work tomorrow.

Before getting to the specifics of today’s food, I want to take just a minute to talk about the food in Myrtle Beach generally and how insanely difficult it has been to try to eat relatively healthy here. Now I’m not sure if it’s South Carolina in general or just Myrtle Beach but holy crap whole grains just DO NOT exist here. Everytime I asked if they could replace white bread with whole wheat I got a blank stare. Most of the food here is so greasy and fruits and vegetables, if you are able to find them, are always an afterthought as opposed to something you build your meal around as I’m used to doing. Finding salad is a feat and if you succeed it will probably be pretty wilty and gross (as mine was today). Don’t get me wrong- I had an AMAZING weekend, but the food was definitely not the highlight. I tried to do the best I could but holy crap am I looking forward to a whole lotta fresh produce in the week to come 🙂

We slept in pretty late today and then rushed a bit to check out of our hotel room in time. By the time all was said and done it was around noon and although we hadn’t eaten breakfast we were ready for lunch. I tried to eat my leftover salad from yesterday but it was really pretty gross and I didn’t think it was fresh enough to eat- thinking back we did walk around with it for a good 6 hours before we got back to our hotel after dinner and put it in the fridge so that makes sense. Anyway we found a little cafe and I ordered a salad with grilled chicken, dressing on the side. It wasn’t good. I ate almost half:

cimg4088

Oh, I forgot to mention but before my salad came out I had some peanuts. That was the one kinda cool thing about this place- instead of bread they had a bucket of peanuts on the table to munch on:

cimg4087

I consoled myself with that disappointment of a lunch by getting a little kiddie cup of frozen yogurt (same as Friday’s):

cimg4089

We played miniature golf again and I got a hole in one! For those of you who are like me when it comes to golf knowledge, it means I hit it in the hole with just one putt!

For dinner I got a caprese panini- chicken, mozzarella, tomato, and basil. I asked for it on whole wheat bread but of course the guy didn’t know what I was talking about and said they didn’t have any.  I also asked for vegetables on the side instead of fries which apparently in Myrtle Beach means broccoli soaked in butter. I ate ½ of the panini and avoided the broccoli and as soon as I discovered it was buttery.

cimg4099

Ryan ordered a chocolate milkshake with his meal- I stole a sip or two 🙂

cimg4098

Dessert was one dark chocolate almond cluster:

cimg4102

At the airport I munched on a Gala apple I managed to find and buy earlier I the day. Mmmmmm fruit.

cimg4100

It’s super late now and I need to get to bed ASAP. I’ll try to work on uploading the rest of the pictures from our vacation tomorrow and then put up a link so you guys can see them. Thanks for all the comments so far- I’m glad you like the photos! Night!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think you did great given the circumstances.
And blank stare for whole grains? :O

Comment by Sharon

Looks like you made some very healthy choices. Eating healthy while traveling is hard. Ahem, see my last post 😉

Comment by Elina

your panini looks wonderful!

Comment by Summer Slim




Leave a Reply

