Inna Scribbles


BEST. DAY. EVER. (all meals 04/04/09)
April 4, 2009, 9:26 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals

Hey all! So as you probably gathered from my title today was the best day ever. Like of my whole life. Ever. I started off the day playing with tigers and monkeys and all sorts of other cool animals- it was incredible. We literally had 1 month old tiger cubs crawling around all over our laps (one licked me!!!!) and held orangutans and petted a huge African elephant named Bubbles and that’s not even half of it! I’m going to try to make an online album with all the pictures ASAP and then post a link so that anyone interested can check it out. Keep an eye out!

On to food…Can I just say how hard it is to find healthy food here? I tried so hard. It’s like they don’t cater to health AT ALL. Maybe because it’s a resort town and you’re not supposed to care about that on vacation? Or maybe being from California/Massachusetts hasn’t exactly given me a fair representation of how the rest of the country eats?ย  Either way it’s been an uphill battle. We went down to our hotel restaurant for breakfast and the healthiest thing I could find to order was a bagel with cream cheese. So that’s what I got. Of course I asked for a whole wheat one and they didn’t have it. Nor did they have light cream cheese. But the other options were white flour pancakes/waffles or greasy eggs so I went for the bagel- not exactly health food but it felt “cleaner.”

cimg4063

Ryan and I also got a plate of fruit to share. First fruit I’ve had down here. And trust me I’ve searched far and wide. Oh how I miss my fruit.

cimg4062

After breakfast we headed over to the preservation station tour and after that was over they fed us cheese/crackers and ice cream. I passed on the ice cream but had a couple of crackers with cheese. That was “lunch” since it held me over ok and I really wanted to head to the beach after we got back. Sorry no photo of crackers and cheese since there were no cameras allowed on the tour (they had a photographer follow us around and take photos of everything that we could later order a photo CD of). The beach was very nice but it was still a bit too cold to swim so instead I napped in the sand and enjoyed the sunshine on my back ๐Ÿ™‚

Since lunch was very light we were hungry for dinner early. I was craving a nice big salad. Summertime and warm weather always puts me in a salad mood. We headed over to a place called Tripp’s not too far away from our hotel.

I had some bread that they brought to the table to start the meal off right. I took a photo but the internet connection is so slow at this hotel I don’t think it’s worth loading. You all know what bread looks like, right?

For dinner I ordered the cajun chicken salad w/ dressing on the side. This had mixed greens, red onions, tomatoes, red pepper, grated cheese, cajun chicken, and spicy roasted nuts. Yum! I ate about half and took the other 1/2 to go- I’ll probably have it for lunch tomorrow.

cimg4071

Oh, I forgot to mention but on the walk to the restaurant Ryan and I stopped off at an amazing candy store called “It’Sugar.” I overheard a little girl in the store describe my sentiment perfectly: “WOW, this is AWESOME.” They had a castle made of jelly beans!

cimg4064

We got 2 bags of candy that we’ve been munching on throughout the night. There’s still a lot left since we got a ton of candy but this was a very nice treat today ๐Ÿ™‚

cimg4073

After dinner we played miniature golf which was super fun. Ryan said I kicked butt! I’ve never played before and I must admit I did pretty awesome. Which made me like it. If I didn’t do good I probably wouldn’t have liked it as much.

Then we decided to go see a movie but the movie we wanted to see wasn’t starting for another 2 hours so we went to an arcade to pass the time. Aside from racing car games (my favorite- weird I know) we played Skee-Ball.

cimg4075

And won some tickets for prizes. This made me excited.

cimg4077

I chose to get a little orange seahorse:

cimg4084

Don’t worry, Ryan got to pick out prizes too. He got 2 little ninjas. Here’s him being a ninja himself while holding them:

cimg4085

Ok, maybe not quite a ninja. But he tried.

After we were done with the arcade we meandered around until our movie started, watched the movie, and walked back to our hotel. All in all, a pretty freaking perfect day.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

umm…baby tiger kisses and an elephant named bubbles? i’m SO jealous! i can’t wait to see those pictures!

the pic of you and the seahorse is so cute and i’m gonna have to agree that ryan’s ninja impression = fail.

Comment by sue

Oh my gosh a baby tiger? That would be sooooo cute! And what a blast!!!

Munching on candy is the best! And look at you go with those tickets!!!!

Comment by Sharon

Ryan looks scary in that picture! ๐Ÿ˜‰ You look like a harmless baby tiger.

I like the name of that place. I can see people like myself walking around…”what the heck is that castle made of?” “It’s sugar.”

I have really great memories of this arcade in Tahoe when I was little, winning tickets with my parents and figuring out ways to make them weigh more!!

Comment by Lara (Thinspired)

I was just wondering what was the name of the place you went to with the tigers and such? I would love to go there!

Comment by Carly

Carly- it’s called TIGERS and it’s in Myrtle Beach South Carolina. It was wonderful!

Comment by innascribbles




Leave a Reply

