Inna Scribbles


More Indian Food! (all meals 03/30/09)
March 30, 2009, 5:25 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals, Snack

Happy Monday guys! Today went by pretty fast for me- I worked from home in the morning and then did a prison visit in the afternoon. This is going to be a short week too since Ryan and I are leaving for Myrtle Beach Thursday evening. While we’re there, we’ll be doing the T.I.G.E.R.S myrtle beach safari VIP tour = I get to cuddle tiger cubs and play with monkeys!!! I am soooooo looking forward to that trip- beach time + cuddling with cute animals is just what I need and it’s exciting to know it’s only a few days away!

I woke up feeling full this morning which is really odd…I’m often not hungry in the mornings but I can make myself eat because I know it’s necessary. But today I wasn’t just not hungry- I was flat out full. Not sure from what because it’s not like I had a huge dinner last night? Anywho I worked for a few hours and then grabbed a grapefruit for a very light breakfast:

cimg3987

I knew I had to eat before leaving for prison but as the day wore on I continued not wanting to eat at all. Finally it was 30 minutes until I had to leave and I forced myself to eat some lunch. For lunch I marinated some Asian-style tofu and then baked it in the oven and served it with a side of green beans. This was my first time cooking tofu and to be blunt it wasn’t very successful. Any tips? I ate maybe 2 or 3 tofu cubes before giving up and just eating the green beans:

cimg3988

I also had 2 large strawberries and an orange- now that was yummy!

cimg3993

The drive to prison was looooooong (like 1.5 hours) and I FINALLY got hungry as I was pulling up to the prison. Good thing I packed a Z-bar- loved this flavor!

cimg3994

After a long drive back I came home to make some Indian food for dinner. I mean, what’s the point of taking cooking classes if you don’t put them to use, right? And in case I have not made this clear enough, I LOVE Indian food πŸ™‚ Tonight I made the palak paneer (Indian cheese in spinach) and a variation on the mung dhal (lentils). I didn’t pre-soak and pre-cook the lentils and waiting three hours before eating was NOT an option, so I decided to substitute canned garbanzo beans for the lentils and spice/cook them the same way as I would the lentils in the recipe. Both dishes came out pretty delicious and wonderful, especially considering this was basically my first time trying to cook Indian food at home. The palak paneer was especially amazing, and I will so be making both of these again very soon (next time planning ahead and using lentils). Perhaps Sue and I can even make this for some interested Boston bloggers and share the cooking class knowledge we learned? Let me know if you’re interested!

Anywho here are the chickpeas cooking:

cimg3995

And the spinach being spiced before the cheese was added in:

cimg3984

And both dishes with some brown rice ready to be consumed. I ate most of this plate (sorry the steam coming off of the food doesn’t make for a great picture but I was too hungry to wait!):

cimg3997

I am currently fighing my sweet tooth and unsure of whether I’ll give in or not. I’m guessing probably yes πŸ™‚ But I’ll keep it in check- promise! Night guys, thanks for reading!

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sorry to hear about the tofu, I’m not sure where you went wrong though. =S

Comment by Sharon

I like baking tofu at 375 for 35 minute. Sauteeing it is nice too. Make sure you press the tofu before marinating or cooking though – it makes them extra crispy and absorbs any sauce you may use!
I’m in for an Indian demo πŸ˜‰

Comment by Elina

inna! you’re making me look bad! you’ve made dishes from both the classes already and my recipes are still sitting in my bag! i’m in for the chance to share/show off our new skills!

Comment by sue

a demo sounds fun πŸ™‚

Comment by ttfn300

nice cooking with the indian food!! i need to start branching out with my cooking

Comment by Summer Slim

Thanks for the suggestions! I did press it- I think the main problem was with the marinade I made. Any good ones you guys can suggest?

Comment by innascribbles

I absolutely love Indian food! I went to an Indian cooking class a year or so ago as well and make the recipes a lot. It was really helpful to see someone else do it first.

I love the picture of your spinach with the spices, the bright green from the spinach and the colors of the spices is so pretty!

Comment by FoodsThatFit




Leave a Reply

