Inna Scribbles


Not Ready (all meals 03/22/09)
March 22, 2009, 6:27 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Snack

Ugh, it’s Sunday night again which of course means the start of a new work week. I am NEVER ready for that. I absolutely love my job, but it’s definitely very exhausting and I am wiped out by the end of the week and the weekend is never long enough. This next month or so is going to be super hectic, both at work and in my personal life. I don’t think I can go too much into the work stuff on a public blog, but suffice it to say we have our work cut out for us because the maximum security prison here is MA has started double bunking inmates and there are fights galore. Outside of work life is going to be hectic too. From tomorrow to the end of April Ryan and I are either having visitors or going away on trips with virtually no down time at all in between. I’m excited because I love when things are fast paced and there is always something to do! Hopefully I can keep up with the blog as much as possible during this hectic time. Here’s a run down of the schedule plan:

March 23-29- Ryan has 2 friends visiting Boston and staying with us

April 2-5- Ryan and I go to Myrtle Beach, South Carolina to play with tiger cubs and monkeys!

April 6-8- my friend who has been traveling through Asia for the last 4 months comes to visit me!

April 9-11- two of my college friends who now live in DC are coming to stay with us!

April 12-16- Ryan’s sister coming to stay with us!

April 17-29- I’m in Israel!

Crazy, right? I’m so excited for it though!

Anyway, on to today’s eats. I was all about snacking today. Oh well, it happens, right? I really tried to listen to my body and make sure I was hungry, not just mindlessly munching. I think I did a pretty good job of that, it was just a hungrier day than usual which I’m ok with. I started off with a very proteiny breakfast- a lox and egg white sammy on Arnold’s sandwich thins. Actually this breakfast covered most of  the food groups- whole grains (sandwich thin), protein (egg white, lox, 1 laughing cow wedge), veggies (lettuce mix in the sandwich), and fruit (pineapple chunks to finish brunch off)- yay!

cimg3914cimg3918

You would think this well-balanced brunch would hold me over for a while, right? I got munchy again like 2. 5 hours later! So I had a grapefruit:

cimg3919

And then I got munchy again in another 2 hours or so. So I had a JamFrakas bar. It was my first time trying one and I liked it a lot! Not as much as the larabar, but still very yummy.

cimg3920

Dinner tonight was one of the recipes I learned to make in my cooking class yesterday. In fact, it was one of the recipes Sue and I made together- the spice rubbed Tilapia with mango and red onion salsa. There was leftover salsa from the class so I took some home with me and wanted to use it up while it was still fresh and yummy. Luckily I had some Tilapia in the freezer so I pulled that out this morning so it would have time to defrost for tonight’s feast 🙂 I served it atop a salad of mixed spring greens, cherry tomatoes, and cucumber. The salsa was so flavorful the salad didn’t need any dressing! Oh, and I piled so much salsa on you can barely see the Tilapia but I swear it’s under there. I ate maybe 3/4 of the salad?

cimg39231

I also sauteed up some asparagus for us to share (we didn’t finish this whole plate):

cimg39261

Dinner was enjoyed with an awesome glass of wine 🙂

cimg3927

And a TON of watermelon for dessert- YUM!

cimg3928

Hopefully tomorrow isn’t too crazy because I really want to get back to the gym! Spinning is on the agenda and this teacher is hardcore so I better rest up. Night guys!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Looks like an ideal day of eating to me! What are the spices in the spiced tilapia? I wonder if it’s the same as the EatLikeMe spice rub we do. Looks yummy. Your schedule is so crazy but hopefully it will be a lot of fun.

Comment by Lara (Thinspired)

Lara- not sure if I can post the spices since the cooking class was paid for so I wonder if its ok to post the recipe? What do you think? I havent done it so far just to be safe but do you think its ok to do?

Comment by innascribbles

watermelon is my favorite! i had some with lunch today too.

Comment by Summer Slim

So cool with the cooking class and all. And boy, lots coming up for you for sure!

Comment by Sharon

What a yummy brunch sandwich!! Love it 🙂

Comment by runningyogini

[…] I shamelessly requested that she include some Arnold’s Sandwich Thins. I’ve seen them all over her blog and I really want to try […]

Pingback by Jetlag, Goodies from Home, and Tight Jeans | Thinspired




Leave a Reply

