Inna Scribbles


FInding Balance (all meals 03/18/09 and 03/20/09)
March 19, 2009, 4:06 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals, Snack

Hey guys! Sorry my posts have been so sporadic lately. Honestly I’m just having a problem maintaining the work-personal life-blogging life balance.  I know all you bloggers out there can relate. Work has been especially crazed lately, and there are always various things going on at the personal level which unfortunately means blogging sometimes gets put on the back burner. Which sucks because I like doing it and miss it when I don’t. Grrrrr. I’m hoping both time (things calming down at work) and experience will help solve this problem. For now, I just hope you’ll bear with me while I try to figure out how to strike the right balance of things in my life.

All Meals 03/18/09)

I had a really early doctor’s appointment yesterday and woke up late so breakfast was eaten on the go. I just grabbed a container of yogurt and ran out the door 🙂 This was a new flavor I’d never tried before and I really really liked it! I’ll definitely be buying it again- it kinda tasted like vanilla pudding = yum.

cimg3850

Lunch was a tribute to a meal my papa would often make me when we first moved here from Russia, except this time I “healthified” it. In the years after we first moved to America I would often eat spaghetti with hot dogs and ketchup for dinner. Sound gross? It wasn’t. Back then anyway. I thought it tasted amazing. Ketchup was cheaper than spaghetti sauce but kinda the same idea, and pasta and hot dogs were both cheap so this would a good meal for the pocketbook while my parents were getting financially settled. Plus, I thought it was yummy so I was a happy camper. For lunch yesterday I made myself spaghetti squash with marinara sauce and a 97% fat free Hebrew National hot dog (only 45 calories!). Um, so much yum. I was very sad when it was all gone.

cimg3849

And some strawberries and grapes for dessert:

cimg3851

No pictures of dinner yesterday, sorry! We had dinner with a bunch of people from Ryan’s law school + their friends and families so whipping out the camera was not an option for me. I started with a small piece of bread + tiny salad and then had 2 glasses of wine + salmon, roasted veggies, and a wild mushroom pilaf. Sounds good. Tasted mediocre.

All meals 03/19/09

Today started out a on similar yogurty note, except since I had time to eat it at home I added fruit this time. I am really into yogurt recently!

cimg3874

I had a pretty large pre-workout snack- lots of baby carrots + 1/2 cashew cookie larabar. This was my first time trying this flavor and I have to say I loved it! And of course I loved the ingredients list- cashews + dates and nothing else!

cimg3876

cimg3877

It was my first day back at the gym and I gotta say I was pooped after it! It’s weird because I FEEL fine, but my appetite is still off and I’m just pretty low energyin general. My steps class was wayyyyyy harder than usual for me today. Grrrrr. Stupid sicknesses.

We got home late last night so I didn’t have time to pack a lunch for today. Instead I headed over to Subway and got a 6 inch turkey sandwich. For a quick takeout lunch it could have been so much worse. I got 9 grain honey oat bread, turkey, + every single veggie imaginable. I skipped the mayo and cheese (yay!) and surprisingly did not miss either AT ALL. Who knew? Instead on top of the turkey I had them pile on: lettuce, tomato, red onion, cucumbers, pickles, and jalapenos and then drizzle all the veggies with vinegar. So good!!! It provided the moisture I was looking for so the sandwich wasn’t dry without the fat of mayo.

cimg3878

And just a small bowl of vegetarian tom yum soup for dinner:

cimg3879

I’m not feeling hungry at all so I don’t think I’ll have much else. Except fruit. I will have fruit. The only question is what kind of fruit. Off I go to figure it out! Night!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i had spaghetti squash tonight with dinner. i made it for the first time last week and really like it, even if it really doesn’t taste like pasta!

Comment by Summer Slim

Oh, great idea with the sandwich sub!

Comment by Sharon

Yeah, it’s definitely hard to balance work, personal life and blogging sometimes. Don’t worry if you blog sporatically. Staying sane is important! 🙂

Comment by Elina

i love hot dogs with rice and ketchup so i imagine with spaghetti would be just as good!

i’m excited about tomorrow!!! YAY!!!

Comment by sue




Leave a Reply

