Inna Scribbles


Yup, Definitely Spoke Too Soon (all meals 03/11/09)
March 12, 2009, 6:41 am
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals, Snack

Sorry for the lack of post last night. It was a looooooong day and by the time I got home (around 11:30 pm) I just needed to crash. I seem to be reversing back into my sickness- I woke up feeling crappier again but decided to go to work anyway since I had a lot to do both at work and after. I skipped the gym since I wasn’t feeling well and tried my best to get as much work done as possible but it was hard since my head felt all cloudy and I was definitely functioning in slow motion. After work I headed over to the John Adams Courthouse for a panel discussion about health care in prisons hosted by Massachusetts Correctional Legal Services (my office) and the Boston Bar Foundation and then ran straight from that to the symphony for a concert. I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it in other posts, but for our valentine’s day gift my parents got tickets for me and Ryan to go to the Boston Symphony. We got to see Benjamin Zander who is absolutely amazing. I kind of fell in love with him after my mom sent me this link with part of a talk he gave about classical music- IĀ  REALLY suggest you go check it out if you have a few minutes.

On to the food!

For breakfast I went back to one of my old standby favorites- toasted sandwich thins with tofutti better than cream cheese spread and some lox. I also had some yummy strawberries on the side.

cimg3728cimg3726

Around 11 I started feeling munchy but definitely not ready for lunch yet. Instead I had a snack of a 100 calorie bag of popcorn. Mmmmm popcorn.

cimg3729

I started feeling worse and worse as the day wore on and was in no mood for lunch at all. Finally around 3:30 pm I made myself sit down to eat my lunch. I made an absolutely delicious pulled chicken salad using leftovers from the previous night’s dinner. The base was romaine lettuce and into the salad went- cherry tomatoes, leftover sauteed asparagus, and leftover pulled chicken. No dressing needed because it was so flavorful from the chicken and asparagus as it was! I wasn’t hungry at all though so I only ate about half of the bowl:

cimg3730

We barely had anytime between the panel discussion and the concert to get some dinner, so we just popped into a whole foods near symphony hall to grab a quick bite. I searched for honest foods bars again but no luck šŸ˜¦ It was a pretty small whole foods though, so I’m not all that surprised. Again, my throat was hurting and my head was pounding so hungry I was not. I decided I should try to eat at least a little something so I got spicy tuna sushi with brown rice. It was not good at all- there was no spicyness at all and instead a sweet flavor came through. And the fish wasn’t very fresh tasting. Maybe I was just cranky and not wanting to eat? Either way I had 5 pieces and gave the other 3 to Ryan:

cimg3733

And an apple for dessert:

cimg3731

Also not pictured are the many emergencies I had throughout the day. I think I had at least 4 of them. And I’m going to keep at it today. I’ve taken a sick day from work since I keep getting worse (I have absolutely no voice at this point and basically feel pretty crappy). I’m bummed because this means no gym AGAIN and today is my favorite steps class ever but I need to take it slow and really take the time to care for myself and get better. Not sure how the food intake will look like today because so far I have no appetite at all. When I got sick when i was little and wasn’t hungry my parents always forced me to drink lots of liquids but never forced me to eat if I really didn’t want to. I think I might follow that mentality- drink tons of tea and Emergen-c and feed myself when i feel even the slightest bit hungry but not force food if I’m REALLY not wanting any. What do you guys think? Is it good to make yourself eat when you’re sick even if you have no appetite?

Ryan made me a pretty sweet set-up for the day since he has class all day and can’t be here to take care of me. He pulled out our pull out couch in the living room and dragged all our comfy bedding in from the bedroom to make this my bed for the day. That way I can watch TV and then dose off and then read and then dose off etc without having to get up šŸ™‚ Hes also surrounded me with Emergen-c, water, and tea. Oh, and tissues so I don’t have to get up to blow my nose. And my computer here on the pull out bed with me so I don’t have to get up when I want to use it. All sorts of goodies šŸ™‚

Alright guys, I’m off to relax and try to get better. I’ll try to be back later wit today’s eats (assuming there are some). Thanks for reading!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You poor thing! Whenever I’m sick, I drink chamomile tea with honey and lemon. I think the honey is a cure-all. Want me to come over and make you some?

Get some rest…

Comment by macduff

I hope you feel better soon! Sounds like the symphony was fun – I’ve never been before.

Oh, and I sent you an email šŸ™‚

Comment by Lauren

i’m camped out on the couch too, but no pull out. rest up and feel better! i force myself to eat when i’m sick because i hate feeling lightheaded, but i think it’s just important to do what feels most comfortable for your body! keep sipping the hot liquids and maybe get some soup or broth in. hopefully we’ll be back to normal soon!

Comment by sue

Oh no, sorry you feel sick again. Feel better!

Comment by Elina

Awh, hope you feel better.
And thanks for sharing the link – the guy is hilarious!

Comment by Sharon




Leave a Reply

