Inna Scribbles


Spoke to Soon? (all meals 03/10/09)
March 10, 2009, 4:17 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals

So even though I am feeling tons better than I did at the end of last week, I think I may have spoken to soon with saying I was all better. I woke up with a little bit of a scratchy/sore throat this morning and it persisted throughout the day. So I’m going to keep drinking the Emergen-c and hope that this bug goes away for good soon.

I had a wonderful surprise in my email this morning- a confirmation email from Barney Butter showing that my mom ordered me 3 tubs of crunchy Barney Butter! Yum! Like I mentioned in my last post, I am almost out of this delicious stuff and wasn’t sure if I would order more since it’s so expensive. Now I don’t have to face this decision for quite a while. My dad was definitely always the one that spoiled me with this kind of stuff when I was growing up, but my mom’s become quite a softy herself lately πŸ™‚ Anywho, enough babbling. Onto the food!

For breakfast I had one of my delicious yogurt combos- 1/2 cup organic plain fat-free yogurt, grapes, strawberries, and a zucchini bran muffin. Soooooooooo delicious and filling. I also love how balanced this breakfast is: protein + dairy from the yogurt, fruit, and whole grains from the muffin.

cimg3710

I had a great workout this afternoon. I got to the gym a little earlier than usual and managed a 2 mile interval run on the treadmill as my “warm-up.” Then I hit up the usual Tuesday bootcamp class. I was dripping sweat like nobody’s business by the end of it πŸ™‚ Too graphic? I was absolutely beat afterwards but it was well worth it- I felt great and the HRM said I burned 627 calories.

When I got back to the office I was more than ready for lunch. I fixed myself a quick salad of spring salad mix, cherry tomatoes, broccoli, grapes, and crumbled leftover homemade turkey burger from a few nights ago. I drizzled the whole thing with some balsamic vinaigrette. It’s official- I do not like fruit in my salads (I know- gasp!). I used the grapes to jazz the salad up but I really wasn’t feeling it. Other than that though, the salad tasted great. I ate about 1/2 of what you see pictured:

cimg3713

And a perfectly delicious gala apple for dessert:

cimg3717

Dinner tonight was pretty amazing, if I do say so myself. I made pulled chicken sandwiches from this cooking light recipe I found on Lauren’s blog when she made pulled chicken sandwiches a few days ago.I love getting recipe ideas from other blogs and this was an amazing one! As always though, I made quite a few substitutions πŸ™‚ I used chicken breasts instead of thighs (that’s what we had on hand and it actually worked surprisingly perfectly) and baked the chicken at 400Β°. Per Lauren’s suggestion, I cut out the brown sugar completely and added in an extra kick by using more chili powder and cayenne pepper than the recipe called for. I also added a good squirt of barbecue sauce to the sauce the recipe has you make to have a little sweet/tang to balance out the spice. In the end, I thought the sauce turned out absolutely wonderful with all those substitutions- I would definitely make it just like that again. The chicken was much easier and more fun to pull than I ever expected- I think the key was not overbaking it and then it pulled apart perfectly. I had my pulled chicken sandwich on toasted whole grain sandwich thins with some lettuce and served that up with some sauteed asparagus on the side. All in all, this is basically my idea of a perfect meal. Thank you so much Lauren for sharing this recipe! I’ll definitely be making this again, and encourage any readers to give it a shot! I wish I had taken a good close up picture that really let you guys see the pulled chicken but I was too excited to eat it πŸ™‚ Oh well, next time. And there will be a next time.

cimg3722

And some delicious red grapes for dessert:

cimg3723

I’m very content right now. Good dinners make me unreasonably happy. I am off to go enjoy a hot shower and some relaxation. Goodnight!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hope all is well.
AND DUDDEEE, BARNEY BUTTER? I WANT!!

Comment by Sharon

sorry you’re suffering from this sore throat that won’t go away too! it’s really annoying me! i’m very very jealous of the barney butter- i still need to try it!

Comment by sue

I think people either love it or hate it when it comes to fruit in salads. You get plenty of it elsewhere so I think it’s totally fine that you leave it out of your salads πŸ˜‰
Hope you feel better tomorrow, hopefully this is the last of it!

Comment by Lara (Thinspired)

I’m glad to hear the recipe was a success with chicken breasts – I’ll have to try it again using your alterations!

Comment by Lauren




Leave a Reply

