Inna Scribbles


Sweet Reunion (all meals 03/09/09)
March 9, 2009, 4:55 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals

I do not understand Boston weather. Yesterday it is 60 and sunny and gorgeous, today I wake up to snow and sleet that continues all freaking day. The rain was pounding down so hard that it actually woke me up a couple times last night- grrrr. That combined with a nightmare I had made getting up pretty easy this morning- I was dead tired but kind of half awake when my alarm rang and definitely ready to stop dreaming about my friend dying.

I decided that a nice bowl of oats would be good for this cold, wet morning. Since I came nowhere near finishing the bowl I made last time I decided to cut down the portion. My oatmeal included: 1/4 cup oats, 1/4 cup 1% milk, 1/4 water, 1 small banana, frozen blueberries, and some cinnamon. I topped the whole thing off with a scoop of crunchy barney butter- I’m almost out of this stuff 😦 Not sure if I’ll order more because it’s so expensive (especially with shipping + handling!) but I really like it. I actually managed to eat the whole bowl this morning, though it took me over half an hour to finish it πŸ™‚ I think this is just the right size for me.

cimg3698

This kept me full for a loooooong time, so there was definitely no need for the usual pre-workout snack. I was sweetly (but unfortunately rather briefly) reunited with the gym this afternoon. I was feeling all better and hadn’t gone in almost a week so it felt good to be back in business! I took a killer 45 minute spin class, followed by arm exercises (alternating biceps curls and tricep dips of 15 reps x 3) + various ab exercises. According to the HRM I burned 465 calories.

I came back to an easy heat-and-eat lunch. I got a few frozen meals at the grocery store this week for some easy lunches and took advantage of one today. This was a trader joe’s chicken chile verde- the whole box has only 280 calories and is VERY filling and pretty tasty, especially for a frozen meal. I ate almost all of it:

cimg3699

And a pear for dessert:

cimg3700

I snacked on a handful of pistachios while making dinner:

cimg37011

For dinner I made Channa Masala using this recipe. Channa masala is an Indian chickpea and tomato dish and this was my first time attempting to make it. I definitely liked the dish a lot, but I didn’t love it nor would I rave about it as do most of the recipe’s reviewers. It was good, but I probably wouldn’t go out of my way to make it again. I also sauteed some trader joe’s pre-marinated curry chicken tenders as well as broccoli for some greenery. I ate all of the broccoli, most of the chicken, and about half of the channa masala.

cimg3707

Dessert was a big fruit plate. Ryan was really nice and volunteered to go grocery shopping for me (that’s usually my job) because I was really tired after a crazy day at work. He loaded up on TONS of delicious fruits for me which makes it a lot easier to say no to the nutella πŸ™‚ Seriously when I have delicious fruit in the house I choose it over “real dessert” 90% of the time- it’s when I’m out of the fresh goodness that I get myself in trouble. Tonight I had a whole juicy grapefruit and some perfectly firm and sweet red grapes:

cimg3708

And that’s all for tonight. As of now the plan is to be in the office for tomorrow so I should be able to make it to the gym. Let’s hope that plan doesn’t have to change- I need a break from prison visits to catch up on all my work! Thanks for reading, night guys!

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That stinks about not finding the Honest Foods bars at the Alewife WF! I ‘m trying to remember which aisle I found them on… probably the cereal aisle, or wherever the granola bars are. I do remember having to look closely for them, and they were at the end of an aisle close to the checkout lanes. I know that’s not much help, but they’re definitely there.

Yay for the Wallaby yogurt!

Comment by Lauren

Love your eats, love love love. Wish I had a TJ near me, because that sounds tasty!

Comment by Sharon

I totally agree with the crazy Boston weather! I go to school in Rhode Island and it’s the same way. One day, you can wear shorts and flip-flops, but the next, you’ll be bundled up in the warmest coat.

I seriously want to go to a Trader Joe’s. It sounds like the best place ever!

Delicious looking eats. πŸ™‚
Have a wonderful rest of the day.

Comment by Emily

that’s so nice of ryan to go grocery shopping for you! does he get a list or were those his choices- because it looks like he did a good job! and your dinner is making me excited for the classes! πŸ˜€ YAY! hopefully the weather will be nicer by then…

Comment by sue

Hey lady. Do you just peel your grapefruits like that like you would an orange? I tried to do it once and it fell apart and was a mess. I want to do it for the plane but I’m worried about the juice factor!
Good job with your eats today–I can tell you are really trying to kick it up a notch πŸ™‚ Remember, I can always do an electronic transfer of calories if your account runs short….
bad attempt at humor, sorry. ❀

Comment by Lara (Thinspired)

Your workout sounds intense!
I wish I could go for fruit instead of real dessert 90% of the time. I think my percentages work the other way… it’s more like 10% fruit, 90% nutella-like substances πŸ˜‰

Comment by Elina

Emily- thanks for the comment. I’m so glad it led me to your blog πŸ™‚

Sue- it WAS very nice of him, but no he did not make all those choices himself. I told him exactly what to get πŸ™‚ I’m also so excited for out classes! We’ll be master cooks by the end of it πŸ™‚

Lara- I peel my grapefruits just like oranges- it does get a little messy but I like it that way πŸ™‚ I would NOT eat it on a plane, but at home its perfect πŸ™‚

Comment by innascribbles




Leave a Reply

