Inna Scribbles


My Dogs Are Barking (all meals 03/08/09)
March 8, 2009, 6:32 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals

Man oh man did I take advantage of the Boston weather today! It was absolutely gorgeous out again and since I still didn’t feel quite well enough to hit the gym I hit the streets and did TONS of walking and enjoying the sunshine. I can’t remember being in such a good mood for the longest time- I didn’t realize quite how much the cold grey winter was affecting me until my complete and total happiness this weekend at feeling the sun on my skin and wearing flip flops. Ah, California how I miss you.

I did set my alarm to hit the gym for a bootcamp class this morning, but my throat was feeling sore so I nixed that plan and went back to sleep instead πŸ™‚ When I woke up I made a quick and yummy breakfast: toasted Arnold’s Sandwich Thins with tofutti better than cream cheese vegan spread + some lox. I also had a banana on the side to bulk breakfast up a bit more.

cimg3687cimg3689

After breakfast Ryan and I went on a nice long walk from Harvard Square all the way to the prudential center in Boston. It was so freaking wonderful out I enjoyed every single step of the way. Sunshine + good company- that’s all it takes πŸ™‚ We meandered around the pru for a bit and then stopped off at the food court to get some lunch. I went to the paradise bakery and cafe and ordered a small barbecue chicken chopped salad with dressing on the side. I did not realize this when ordering, but holy crap when this place says small they mean small (unlike most other restaurants in America where small is still very large). Not sure if you can get this from the picture but this was pretty much the size of a side salad you’d get at a restaurant:

cimg3690

Thank goodness I packed a bar to take with me in case hunger should strike. After finishing off the salad I ate a chocolate chip Z-bar (yum!) to finish off lunch:

cimg3694

We meandered around the prudential center some more and then Ryan left to go study while I met up with a friend for some more walking and shopping. We started to get hungry for dinner a few hours later but decided to walk back towards my place instead of taking the T (subway) since the weather was still so wonderful and not taking advantage of it would be a shame. So we walked back from the prudential center to Porter Square and ate around here. I mapped it and all in all I walked at least 7 miles today, if not a bit more. Though it was pretty leisurely most of the way, it does make me feel better about skipping the morning workout. At least I wasn’t a total bum πŸ™‚ Oh, and I learned a new expression. After all that walking, “my dogs were barking.”

For dinner tonight I had plans to cook a cool new Indian chickpea dish that I found a recipe for on the internet, but my friend is a very picky eater so that didn’t end up happening. Instead we went to the Korean place right by my house, Seoul Food. I love that place so I wasn’t about to complain. Like usual, I ordered the amazingly delicious yu-kae-jang soup:

cimg2920

As you may have noticed by now I am a HUGE broth lover and not a huge lover of eating the things inside the soup that flavor the broth. I ate a bit of the soup fillings, but mostly sucked out all of the broth so by the end of dinner my bowl just had a bunch of “soup innards” left in it πŸ™‚

cimg3692

And when I got home I went straight for the…nutella. Thank goodness that jar is kind of close to finished. I am not opening up a new one for a while after all the nutella love I’ve been having lately.

cimg3695

Alright folks, I’m off to pack my lunch for tomorrow and sleep. Night!

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

everything looks so yummy! paradise has the bestest chocolate chip cookies ever, i always raid their samples if they have them out! πŸ™‚ and you eat korean food more often than me- i’m very jealous!

Comment by sue

Oh wow, scrumptious eats! And love the Korean eats!

Comment by Sharon

That soup looks amazing – I love good broths too! Was it spicy??

Comment by biz319

I love Paradise but I’ve never had their salads. I worked in retail one summer and always ordered their little cookie “chippers” on my breaks. Healthy, eh?

Comment by Lara (Thinspired)

I haven’t had lox and cream cheese in a while, but man this post is making me crave it!!

Comment by Lauren

Beautiful beautiful weather this weekend. Too bad today’s already royaly sucks! 😦
Paradise makes the best chocolate chip cookies in the world. Good job on staying away. I’m never this strong! πŸ™‚

Comment by Elina

I bet you wish that you knew about the cookies.

Comment by Ryan

biz319- yes it’s a spicy amazingly yummy broth- i could eat it every day!

lauren- i’m actually using a vegan cream cheese substitute called tofutti instead of cream cheese- it’s amazingly delicious!

elina- I had no idea they had good chocolate chip cookies. now that i know next time i’ll definitely indulge!

ryan- nah i’m kinda glad i didnt know πŸ™‚ thats dangerous knowledge

Comment by innascribbles




Leave a Reply

