Inna Scribbles


Sicky (all meals 02/06/09 and 02/07/09)
March 7, 2009, 7:19 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals, Snack

Sorry for the brief absence, but I’ve been feeling pretty sicky the last few days. It started Thursday night with an insane throat ache and has continued into Friday and today with headaches/throat aches galore. I’m doing my best to ward this thing off fast before it gets bad via Emergen-c and mucho sleep. I actually got 14.5 hours of sleep last night! I woke up feeling a lot better this morning, but definitely not quite there yet. Since I didn’t post yesterday, this is going to be a double post of yesterday’s and today’s meals. My appetite has been pretty off because of the sickness, but I’ve been doing my best to keep eating and fueling my body with the goodness it needs to fight this thing off.

All meals 02/06/09

Friday was another prison visit day (that’s 3 days in a row!) and was super mentally exhausting, which I find to be way worse than physically exhausting. Thankfully I got to sleep in a bit since I was working from home before the visit and didn’t have to take the extra time to get to work. I woke up feeling pretty icky with a really nasty sore throat so I made myself an Emergen-c to start my morning off. By the time 11:00 rolled around I was finally ready to eat some brunch. I made another Mexicany egg Mcmuffin since the last one was so tasty- toasted double fiber English muffin, reduced fat colby-jack cheese, guacamole, salsa, and egg white patty made from 1/4 cup microwaved egg whites. Total yummyness.

cimg3658

There was no way I was going to make it home for lunch on Friday. Since I had such a late “breakfast” though, I thought I’d do fine with just a pretty substantial snack and an early dinner. I packed myself a kashi bar and an apple:

cimg3662

I got home around 6 pm and by that time I had a HUGE headache and could barely see straight. I quickly grabbed a handful of pistachios and warmed up a bowl of lentil soup thinking that was a nice start to dinner.

cimg3673cimg3674

Then since my headache still didn’t go away I decided I should lie down and rest a bit before cooking the rest of dinner. This was around 8:00 pm. So I went to lay down and completely passed out and didn’t wake up until 10:30 am today. Yup, that’s 14.5 hours of sleep!

All meals 02/07/09

I woke up feeling a little better but definitely not well enough to go to the gym as I had hoped. I made myself another emergency and hung out for a bit, taking it easy. I kept trying to think of what I wanted for breakfast but nothing sounded good until….I though of a deliciously decadent wafflewich! 2 toasted kashi go lean waffles, one spread with crunchy barney butter, the other spread with nutella, and a banana in the middle. HOw amazing does that sound? Definitely more decadent than I would normally have for breakfast but I finally found something that sounded good (of course it involved nutella!) so I went for it.

cimg3675

Boston is getting some amazing weather this weekend so even though I wasn’t feeling great I couldn’t bear the thought of being cooped up indoors and missing it. I convinced Ryan to spend the afternoon doing some hiking around the Blue Hills Reservation so we could take advantage of the wonderful sunshine and get some fresh air. This turned out not to be the greatest idea since even though it was warm the snow had not yet melted on the paths and my feet were soaked through and through by the time we were done with our trail- not so great for the sickness I’m sure. Oh well, it was wonderful being able to spend a few hours outdoors.

I packed a snack for after the hike in case I’d be hungry and hungry I was. I had some cherry tomatoes, baby carrots, and cucumbers to tide me over:

cimg3676

While we were out and about, Ryan and I (ok let’s be honest, I) decided we should stop by Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods for groceries. We hit up the Trader Joe’s in Brookline and by the time we were done with that both of us were ravenous. As in ready to eat each other. No way to make it home and cook and eat. Plus, we still had more errands on the agenda. So we quickly popped into one of the nearest restaurants we saw- a Vietnamese place called Pho Lemongrass. We started by sharing some beef spring rolls with peanut sauce (light on the beef, heavy on the lettuce which was just fine with me). These were just ok:

cimg3677

Then for my entree I ordered the Mongolian Tofu with veggies which was really super yummy, though it didn’t come close to comparing to Ryan’s AMAZING lemongrass curry chicken soup. Holy cow that soup was amazing. But back to me. Here’s my plate:

cimg3683

I gave all of that rice to Ryan (not a fan of rice), picked out the celery (ew!) and baby corn (meh) and then devoured practically the whole tofu veggie stir fry. I should have stopped myself because I was definitely full halfway through but it was delicious and I didn’t want to 🙂 I thought about it, but decided to keep eating anyway. Oh well. It’s nearly 6 hours later and I’m still stuffed so I don’t think I’m going to be having anything else tonight besides some more Emergen-c. I would love to be well enough to hit the gym tomorrow but I’m not going to push it if I’m not. Generally when I push myself to go when I’m not feeling well I just get sicker and end up having to take more time off than if I had just taken the time to fully recuperate in the first place. So we’ll have to see how I feel in the morning and then go from there. I’m off for a nice hot shower and then hitting my bed. Night!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The spring rolls were 90% lettuce, which is NOT okay. Next time we hike we have to remember to bring our snow boots.

P.S. still very impressed with your Wafflewich.

Comment by Ryan

Awh, hope you are feeling in tip-top shape soon. Sorry about being ill and all.

Love the eats, I love vietnamese cuisine!

Comment by Sharon

Hope you feel better soon, so sorry you’ve been sick 😦 Lovin’ breakfast yesterday!

Comment by Lara (Thinspired)

oh no- there’s totally something icky going around! i hope you feel better soon and keep drinking the emergen-c! i thought i was better but the sore throat keeps coming on and off so i need to buy more packets!

Comment by sue

Holy delish wafflewich! What a fantastic combination of flavors 🙂

Feel better soon!

Comment by Lauren




Leave a Reply

