Inna Scribbles


Exciting News (all meals 03/05/09)
March 5, 2009, 6:26 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals, Snack

Well today wasn’t AT ALL what I expected it to be. After the insane amount of prison visits lately (I went on one yesterday too not sure if I mentioned it in my post…) I was all set and excited for a day at the office, my normal routine, a workout, catching up on work, etc. So, I get to my office this morning and from the second I arrive it is pure CHAOS- emergencies all around so I have to turn right back around, get on the T (subway), go back home, get my car, and set out for…another prison visit. Oh, and I have one tomorrow too. AHHHHHHHHH. So stressed right now about the insane amount of work I have to catch up on but can’t because my entire work day is spent at the prison. And stressed about not having gone to the gym since Tuesday (and probably won’t go tomorrow) because of how crazy work has been. Just stressed all around.

Of course a crazy chaotic day made for somewhat of an unpredictable food intake day- eating when I can, where I can, and what I can. I do, however, have some exciting news to share on the food front. Ready for this? I don’t hate oatmeal anymore! I mean I can’t say I LOVE it just yet, but I made myself a stove-top batch this morning and it wasn’t half bad! I actually kind of enjoyed eating this, as opposed to almost gagging most other times I’ve tried it (except for in oatmeal breakfast cookie form). Yay for oatmeal progress! I know I’ll come to really love it soon πŸ™‚ The batch I made this morning was pretty simple- 1/3 cup oats, 1/3 cup water, 1/3 cup 1% milk, 1 small banana, and frozen blueberries. The whole thing was topped off with a nice scoop of crunchy Barney Butter and some cinnamon sprinkling. Not half bad. It was insanely filling however, way more filling than any breakfast I’m used to, so I could only manage to eat half before giving up. And even that was a struggle.

cimg3649

By 11 am I was ready for a snack. As I was driving to the prison I had a snack bag of popcorn. It definitely hit the spot.

cimg3653

Packing lunch was a bit crazy. I had planned on eating at the office so I brought some soup to warm up for lunch but obviously that was no longer an option since lunch would have to be eaten in the car. I had about 2 minutes at home to change into prison appropriate clothes and grab a makeshift lunch before leaving for my visits, so here’s what I came up with: baby carrots, cherry tomatoes, an apple, and a raspberry chocolate Kashi granola bar. Thought process? Not much time for one…Anything quick and easy to eat while driving while somewhat covering my food groups…

cimg3652

I was interviewing people for a really long time today. By the time I got out of prison it was 4:30 pm- obviously wayyyyyy past my normal lunch time and pretty close to dinner. I didn’t want to completely spoil my appetite for dinner by eating everything I had packed, so I just ate the produce (baby carrots, tomatoes, apple) and tucked the Kashi bar away. I also had a few wheat thins when I got home (not pictured- jumped into my mouth too quick)

At dinner I made up for my light lunch. I started with a bowl of yummy homemade lentil soup. I ate about 1/2 of what is pictured before deciding to stop because if I ate the whole bowl there is no way I’d have room for the second course.

cimg3654

For the main course I made turkey burgers. I had mine “protein style” (aka lettuce instead of bun) since we had only white buns in the house. After plopping it onto its lettuce base I topped the burger with TJ’s red pepper spread with eggplant and garlic and some red onions. Yum!

cimg3655

And a spoonful of Nutella for dessert. No messing around with fruit pretenses this time. I am so feeling the Nutella love lately. A little too much I think πŸ™‚

cimg3656

And now I am off to get some rest after this exhausting day. I’ll need all the energy I can get for tomorrow!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love your eats, especially the finale! Nutella ❀

Comment by Sharon

i’ve found that making the oats on the stove top makes a huge difference too. i hope one day we can both love it. haha- what an odd goal to have but i get so jealous when i see everyone’s oatmeal creations!

Comment by sue

Sorrry you have so much on at work! At least you can’t say life is boring, right? πŸ˜€ Mmmm…popcorn…Nutella…that is all I see in this post.

Comment by Lara (Thinspired)

Sorry work is so stressful! I hope it eases up. Glad you’re starting to enjoy oats too. Adding bananas really is key for me.

Comment by Elina




Leave a Reply

