Inna Scribbles


Forced Creativity (all meals 03/04/09)
March 4, 2009, 5:12 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Meals, Snack

I’m going to go ahead and call today a success. I popped by the Wrentham Outlets on my way home from my prison visit and made one of the best purchases of my life. At the BCBG outlet (have you spotted my obsession with this store yet?) I bought an amazingly cute purse that I convinced myself I couldn’t live without. Plus, how could I say no- the original price for the purse was listed as $400 (INSANE!) and I bought it for….wait for it….wait for it….$40!!! Master shopper!

For breakfast (well more like brunch since I worked from home this morning and so I didn’t eat until about 10:30) I was forced to get creative given the lack of bananas in the house. I came up with a pretty healthy and insanely delicious version of a Mexican inspired egg McMuffin. I toasted a double fiber English muffin and then filled it with: guacamole, pepper jack cheese, salsa, and an egg white patty (made by microwaving 1/4 cup egg whites in the microwave for 2 minutes). Yum! I love accidentally stumbling across healthy and yummy creations.

cimg3640

I wasn’t hungry for lunch at all today. I’m not sure if it was because of the super late breakfast or because of a really bad tummy ache I got afternoon, but either way lunch wasn’t happening. I got the tummy ache on my drive back from prison and barely made it home ok- I was seriously considering pulling over and waiting it out. I randomly get pretty bad tummy aches sometimes and they have a history of making me faint so I wanted to get home ASAP. Thankfully this one didn’t last too long and I made it home alright, chugged water, rested a bit, and eventually felt a lot better.

Around 5:00 I started getting a little munchy but Ryan wasn’t home for an early dinner so I just grabbed a handful of pistachios to hold me over:

cimg3641

Dinner tonight was a bit of something new and a lot of something delicious. I made salmon, green beans, and TJ’s organic soycutash. The salmon recipe I used was largely based off of this recipe from Cooking Light but of course I made a few substitutions (mainly because I didn’t have what it called for on hand). Specifically, I used lemon juice instead of lime juice, a little brown sugar instead of honey, TJ’s sweet chili sauce instead of Sriracha, and then added some red chili flakes for some heat. I also baked the salmon rather than pan fry it, brushing the mixture onto the salmon about halfway through. As for theΒ  veggies, I sauteed the green beans with some EVOO, salt, pepper, garlic, and 2t of TJ’s Soyaki sauce. The soycutash is just a mix of corn, edamame, and red bell pepper which I heated up on a skillet. This was very yummy- I finished every last bite.

cimg3645

And some dried mangoes for dessert. I’m hoping this keeps the nutella monster in me at bay.

cimg3647

Alright folks, only two workdays left! I have a feeling I’ll be headed out for prison visits again on Friday but at least I’m in the office tomorrow so I should hopefully be able to get a workout in. Night!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

YAY master shopper! i want to see the purse πŸ˜€

and the breakfast sandwich looks amazing!

Comment by sue

WHOA dude, yes, master shopper for that deal! My mom would love you. She loves finding deals and gets all giddy. Everytime I see her, there is a fashion show featuring her showing off her finds! Hahaha!

Comment by Sharon

Horray for a new purse! I’d love to see it πŸ˜‰ I got a purse for that price on my honeymoon but it was only Nine West, so it’s not as big of an achievement! Hehe.
Breakfast and dinner both look great. I love how pimped out the McMuffin is with the guac and salsa, too!

Comment by Lara (Thinspired)

I love BCBG! Your food looks delicious, but I still think you don’t eat enough (if you’re not hungry, sneak in extra calories!! I’d go the nutella route instead of mangoes since you already got some veggies in at dinner). This is the last time I’m saying this, I promise. I mean it with love πŸ™‚

Comment by Elina

Lara and Sue- I tried to look for a picture online but couldn’t find it! Probably because it’s from an old season since I got it at the outlet. I’ll try to remember to snap a photo to put up- I’m already wearing it to work today!

Elina- glad you’re feeling the BCBG love πŸ™‚ I think if i had to choose any one store that I could shop at for the rest of my life it would be BCBG. And thank you for the comment re food intake, I definitely know you mean it with love and really appreciate all input, so please don’t worry about that! This day was definitely a very little food day, thanks to the absence of lunch. If I had eaten lunch, I think it would have been pretty normal, right? The problem for me with going the nutella route rather than the dried mango route to get extra cals in is that as much as I want my calories to be in the “normal” range, I want to get them from healthy foods. I chose the dried mangoes because they are actually pretty caloric for what they are (4 slices = 120 cals) but still good for me since there is no sugar added, etc as opposed to nutella which is 95 cals for 1T and not so good for me even though I’ve been indulging in it quite a lot lately πŸ™‚

Comment by innascribbles

The breakfast sammie looks awesome Inna!

Comment by Lauren




Leave a Reply

