Inna Scribbles


Snow Day! (all meals 03/02/09)
March 2, 2009, 5:24 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals, Snack

Like everyone else in Boston, I woke up to a white out outside my window this morning:

cimg3618

My office closes whenever the governor declares a state of emergency for non-emergency state workers and that’s exactly what happened today! All night I kept having dreams that my office was closed for the day because of the snow, and then waking up and realizing I was still sleeping and had no idea if I had to go to work or not- so frustrating! By the time morning came around I checked my work email and saw that our office was closed for the day! I stayed inside all day (in fact I still haven’t changed out of my pjs and seeing as its almost 8 pm I doubt I’m going to) and bummed around. The only one productive thing I did was make lentil soup with tons of leftovers so that should be great for some easy “simply re-heat” meals this coming week.

Despite the gloomy weather, I decided I wanted a smoothie this morning. I decided to try something different as my “substantive add in.” I’ve used a lot of nut butters in smoothies to give them more substance and also gave hemp powder a try, but today I decided to try yogurt:

cimg3607

Here is everything in my bullet- its a mix of frozen mangoes, raspberries, and blueberries, the yogurt, and 1/2 a banana.

cimg3611

And the final product, all blended and ready to drink. It tasted absolutely amazing! I am definitely going to be making this combo again (and using yogurt in smoothies in general):

cimg3613

For lunch I had a bowl of the lentil soup I made. The recipe I used is really simple- I just found it on foodnetwork.com by typing in “lentil soup” and looking for something easy, healthy, and containing all the ingredients I had on hand so I wouldn’t have to brave the cold. Here is the recipe I used- the only changes I made were omitting celery and grains of paradise- none on hand. It turned out really delicious- I love lentil soup because it is so hearty and filling and so good for you! Like I said before, I have tons of leftovers so be prepared to see more of this baby soon:

cimg3621

And three wee clementines for dessert. These are REALLY tiny!

cimg36241

And while I chowed down on that, Ryan had some jello we had fun making last night (except for the me pouring burning water on my hand part). How cute is he? He’s so into it!

cimg3617

In the afternoon I grabbed a handful of pistachios for a snack. I am so into these lately!

cimg3625

Dinner was quick, easy, and tasty. I had a shredded cabbage salad that I dressed with a drizzle of EVOO and some white vinegar, salt, and red chilli pepper flakes (yum!) along with the last of my lean ground turkey stuffed meatloaf. I am going to have to give making that meatloaf a try- I watched my dad do it so it shouldn’t be too hard to re-create I hope.

cimg3627

And a grapefruit for dessert. I’m wanting more nutella but we’ll see if the grapefruit does the trick instead. If not, I’m definitely going in for the real thing 🙂 And if I do, I’ll update the blog accordingly!

cimg3628

And now for some very exciting news- I am really honored have gotten the Kreativ Blogger award from Sue! Sue is an awesome blogger whose blog I read every day without fail- she does such a wonderful of combining little anecdotes from every day with her delicious and creative food choices! And her photos are absolutely amazing. But I think the thing I love most about Sue’s blog is the absolute honestly and sincerity with which she writes- she writes about issues I can strongly relate to but am not always brave enough to talk about myself. Thanks so much for the award Sue!

3284008968_5d0fa1929b_o12

And now to pass it on…it’s tough because there are so many wonderful bloggers out there! But for now I’m going to pass the award on to:

1. Kelly at kellyspinkapron. Kelly has a really wonderful blog and is a fellow Boston blogger! She uses so many new and different foods (like Langoustines) in such wonderfully “Kreativ” ways, and really inspires me to try to expand my horizons with cooking. She is also amazing at finding new flavor combinations- things you wouldn’t think to put together traditionally but are brilliant and delicious once you actually try them out- check out her latest post with a review of Vosges chocolates which have some wonderfully Kreativ flavor combos.

2. Elina at healthyandsane. Elina is also a Boston blogger and was one of the first blogs I started following when I started getting into the foodie blog world. Elina’s blog is incredibly addictive- her posts are witty and fun and her food always looks mouth-wateringly good. She’s also always trying out new recipes and has given me some wonderful ideas for meals to try out!

3. Dee at jo-dee-will-succeed. I just recently found Dee’s blog (thanks to a comment she left on mine) and it’s so fun! This woman has an amazing story to tell and has come so far! Plus, she is so blunt and honest and funny in her posts I just can’t hellp but smile the whole time I’m reading 🙂

Check out all these amazing blogs! I’m off to enjoy the rest of the night- work is definitely on the agenda for tomorrow. Night!

Edit- totally went back for a spoonful of nutella- that stuff is dangerous!

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

congrats on the award! and horray for a day off 🙂 lucky!! that smoothie looks fantastic, and i wish clementines did it for me for dessert–i always go back for more 🙂

Comment by ttfn300

yay for blog awards! thanks for saying such nice things!
i hope you try recreating the meatloaf- it seems like something tom would like also, so i’m very interested!

Comment by sue

I want an award.

Comment by Ryan

Yay for awards! That soup recipe looks good. I don’t know why but I have never dealt with lentils or beans that didn’t come in a can. It’s just kind of intimidating to me. I was going to make veggie soup this week, but do you think I can handle lentil? Is it like rice? Help! 😉

Comment by Lara (Thinspired)

Congrats on the award!

Sounds like you had a great snow day – the lentil soup sounds yummy!

Yay for the magic bullet!

Comment by Lauren

Oh wow, love your eats! And congratulations on the award!!!

Comment by Sharon

lara- the lentil soup is SUPER easy and delicious- dont be scared! it is no different working with dry lentils from a bag rather than canned ones- you just rinse them before throwing them in the pot is all. I forgot to mention but after I finished cooking it I took about 1/3 out and pureed it in a blender, then mixed it in with the rest. That way I got a nice thick base but it still had tons of whole lentils in it which I loved. My only advice if using the recipe is to make 1/2- i have so much leftovers!!!

Comment by innascribbles




Leave a Reply

