Inna Scribbles


All I Want is Shabu Zen (all meals 02/18/09)
February 18, 2009, 5:03 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals, Snack

Hey everyone! Like usual I am rushing to get the normal stuff done tonight and make it to bed at a reasonable hour. It hasn’t been happening lately and I doubt it’s going to happen tonight because added on to my usual list of stuff to do is packing for my trip to San Francisco! For those of you who don’t know I am originally from San Francisco (well, Russia actually but I moved to SF when I was six and grew up there) and that’s where my family and most of my friends live. I’m not going for long- just Friday through Sunday- but I am REALLLLLY excited. I miss home way more than I can describe, and can’t wait until Ryan and I can move back after he’s done with law school. It’s always hard going back home for so short because it gives me a little reminder and taste for what I’m missing and then it gets taken away so fast, but I am really grateful for the chance to see my family, friends, and pup for any time I can. I’m not sure how blogging will work when I’m there- I might blog a bit, blog everything, or just take the time off. I’ll just have to wait and see how it goes. No matter what, I’m sure there will be indulgences galore πŸ™‚

As far as food, all I wanted today was Shabu Zen. I just couldn’t get yesterday’s fabulous meal out of my mind. Thankfully I had a little self control and stuck with meals I prepared.

Breakfast:

For breakfast I toasted a double fiber English muffin and topped it with light laughing cow cheese wedges- yum!

cimg3478

To add a little more substance to the meal, I had my very first banana and nut butter “sandwich”, inspired by Lara! For mine I used 1/2 banana, 2 tsp crunchy barney butter, and some cinnamon

cimg3480

Pre-workout snack:

The recent favorite pre-workout snack made its appearance again, this time in strawberry flavor.

cimg3483

Workout:

Nice sweaty 45 minute spin class along with arm exercises (bicep curls + tricep dips x 3 reps each). I think my HRM said I burned around 420 cals if I remember correctly?

Lunch:

Lunch today was full of different tastes and flavors and textures- my favorite! To start I had some baked eggplant “chips”- baked eggplant with salt, pepper, garlic salt, and a bit of Parmesan cheese. So good. I miss eggplant.

cimg3485

Next up was a yogurt covered fruit and nut KIND bar. I absolutely love KIND bars.

cimg3486

And two clementines to round the whole meal off:

cimg3487

Snack:

I felt munchy later on in the afternoon. Not hungry, but I just felt like munching. Does anyone else get like that? I had a pear to sate my craving.

cimg3488

Dinner:

I wasn’t too hungry for dinner tonight, so I made myself a nice little salad. Not that little, but smaller than I would normally make if I were having a dinner salad. It’s a spring mix base and also has: red onions, cherry tomatoes, the last of our fresh mozzarella, and a little bit of sauteed chicken and brocolli. Dressed with 1T of Newman’s light balsamic.

cimg3492

Contemplating dessert. Thinking no for now, but that may change and I’ll update if it does. Off to get stuff done!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Your first day without a caprese salad in days. Stay strong, the withdrawal will get easier…

Comment by Ryan

i’m so jealous you’re going to cali for the weekend!
and you should try doing shabu shabu at home! it’s definitely super healthy, and i bet they sell the thinly sliced meat and shabu pots at the japanese grocery inside porter exchange, or they do for sure at reliable market in somerville- which is a good one if you want to stock up on korean side dishes too!

Comment by sue

That is such a great idea with egg plant! =D Oh, have a great time! I know what you mean about being home and such!!!

Comment by Sharon

sue- thanks for all the suggestions! i’ll definitely get on that when i get back from my trip. do you think trying to make shabu shabu in a normal pot would work? is there a reason for using only shabu pots?

sharon- eggplant was SO easy to make- pop in the oven and forget about it. super delicious too πŸ™‚

Comment by innascribbles

Love the banana sandwich πŸ˜‰ I can’t take credit for it though–just another stolen bloggie idea!

Comment by Lara

You know what? I actually own a hot pot. I lived in China for a long time, and got used to eating it often. So when I moved back to the states, one of the first things I did was hit up Chinatown for a good hot pot. Our next Boston meetup should involve homemade hot pot!!!

Comment by macduff




Leave a Reply

