Inna Scribbles


Lazy day + Blogger Dinner (all meals 02/16/09)
February 17, 2009, 6:48 am
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals, Snack

Sorry for the lack of post last night- the blogger dinner went pretty late and by the time I got home, made lunch for the next day, and took care of little odds and ends it was wayyyyy past my bedtime. Yesterday was a very chill and lazy day- I honestly didn’t do much all day until the blogger dinner, so let’s get straight to the food.

Breakfast:

I woke up fairly late so I tried to keep breakfast pretty light so that I’d be hungry for lunch at a normal time and not throw off my eating schedule entirely. I whipped up a smoothie with a bunch of frozen mixed fruit (pineapple, grapes, peaches, cantaloupe), 1/2 banana, ice, and skim milk. Nothing (like a nut butter or protein powder) to bulk it up like usual but it got the job done since I didn’t need it to hold me over for too long.

cimg34301

Lunch:

For lunch I warmed up the last of my mushroom broth and had that along with a caprice salad- I am obsessed with these salads now- so good! Just drizzled with balsamic this time- no EVOO- since I found it makes no difference at all and just adds in unnecessary oil.

cimg3432

cimg3434

Lunch dessert was 2 clementines:

cimg3436

Snack:

Later in the afternoon I got hungry again (I think my lunch was super low cal so it didn’t do a great job of holding me over- the only calories really came from the mozzarella but the rest of the food barely had any) so I snacked on a fat free blueberry Stonyfield Farms yogurt- this might be my favorite flavor to date! I also had a few pistachios (not pictured)

cimg3437

And then came by far the most exciting part of the day- the Boston blogger meet up dinner at Small Plates! I got to meet so many new and wonderful ladies- I think there were like 15 or so of us there! The bad part of that was that it meant the table was kind of divided into 2 sections since it was impossible for everyone to have a conversation all together. However, I had some really great people on “my side” of the table and hopefully next time we all meet up I can properly meet and talk to the ladies I missed out on this time. I’m not sure I have everyone who was at this dinner, but I do know I got to meet some really lovely ladies including Elina, Sue, Tina (who organized the whole thing!), Sarah, Bridget, MacDuff, Sabrina, Kelly, Lauren, Shannon, Katie, and Karley. Please forgive me if I’m missing anyone- there were so many new names and faces! I had a really wonderful time with everyone and really hope we can do this again sometime soon.

On to the food- as the name of the restaurant suggests, small plates is a tapas restaurant that serves small plates of food. This is perfect for me since I love getting the chance to try out many different textures and flavors. Our server recommended getting 2-3 plates a person, so that’s what I went with.

To start I had Japanese Eggplant with Cow’s Milk Feta, Pine Nuts, and Tomato Basil Sauce. So so so good- I would definitely get this again!

cimg3445

And for my second dish I got the beef satay with apple saffron chutney and peanut sauce. Another winner.

cimg3452

And now I’m off to work. Have a great day everyone!

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It was great meeting you last night. I only wish we had chatted more. 🙂 Was the sushi restaurant you went to the other day Snappy Sushi? I’ve been there a couple of times but so far I haven’t found a roll to be obsessed with yet. Fugaku will always be my favorite, but in Cambridge I like Hana as well. It’s a block away from my boyfriend’s apartment so we find ourselves there a lot.

Comment by Kelly

Fun, fun! Thanks for linking to everyone’s blogs, there are some new ones on there that I’ll have to check out.
You must be getting excited for the weekend ahead (ok, I know it’s only Tuesday, but it will come quick enough, right?)!

Comment by Lara

The Japanese Eggplant looks so interesting! And the blogger meetup sounds like a blast!

Comment by healthy ashley

it was SO great to finally meet you. i guess not finally as we’ve only known each other in the blog world for a short time, but it feels like a while, doesn’t it?
can’t wait to see the classes!

Comment by sue

Oh my gosh, what a fun time! And a tasty time you had at the meetup!!!

Comment by Sharon

hey hey! nice to meet you last night 🙂 can’t wait to keep in touch in blogland!

Comment by ttfn300

Kelly- SO great meeting you too! I wish I had gotten a chance to talk to you more too- it’s so hard when there’s so many people! But I’m really glad I got to talk to you as much as I did and that I discovered your blog thanks to the meet-up- it’s so wonderful! Hopefully next meet-up we’ll get a chance to chat a little more 🙂

Lara- I actually leave Thur night so I’m already super excited!!! AHHHH i CANNOT wait 🙂

Healthy Ashley- Japanese Eggplant was DIVINE in my opinion. I’m going to try to make something similar at home- it was basically eggplant, tomato sauce, and pine nuts which was such a great combo!

Sue- it really DOES feel like I’ve know you for way longer than I have! I guess that’s what happens when you “talk” every day, right? 🙂

Sharon- it was delicious and fun! Wish you could have joined us!

ttfn300- so good to meet you too! I also can’t wait to keep in touch in blogland, and hopefully in “real life” too!

Comment by innascribbles

I am so happy we got to meet up, and after reading your blog, I’m so bummed that we weren’t sitting at a circular table!!! NEXT TIME.

Shabu Zen looks awesome, I’m going to put that on a list of places to hit in the near future. Thank you!

Comment by macduff

Macduff- I know! That was the one bummer of the night. Next time we choose a place with CIRCULAR tables! I love your blog and am so happy I got to meet you, even though it was way more brief than I would have liked!

Comment by innascribbles




Leave a Reply

