Inna Scribbles


So Happy (all meals 02/14/09)
February 15, 2009, 8:44 am
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals

Sorry for my lack of post yesterday guys! It was just such a amazingly relaxing and wonderful day all around that I didn’t want to bother with getting on the computer, uploading photos, etc.

I slept in later than usual and woke up to a beautiful bouquet of flowers from Ryan 🙂 We exchanged gifts in bed and then lounged around for quite some time before getting up. Ryan and I are HUGE gift people and exchange them for every single possible occasion we can, but we very very rarely actually buy gifts for each other. We’re much more into making each other stuff. I’m not talking like 4th grade art project making each other stuff, but buying things that allow us to work on and personalize the gifts we get each other. Ryan’s present to me is a perfect (and super cool) example. He knows I’ve been talking about getting a recipe book because right now I just have little bits of paper here and there listing all the recipes I have. So instead of going to the store and buying me a pre-made one, he went to a really nice stationary store in Harvard Square and bought all the stuff he needs to make me my very own personalized one. The recipe book is a really beautiful hardcover hand-painted binder, and inside there are pages for me to write down all my recipes in. Ryan personalized the pages himself on the computer and it’s divided up really well into an ingredients section, directions section, and a section for me to put the photo of it all when I’m done. The pages have all been put into sheet protectors so if I spill when I’m cooking I can easily wipe it up and not get my recipe pages all dirty. Also if I don’t want to bring the whole recipe book into the kitchen (I’d be scared of getting that beautiful binder dirty) I can just pull out the one page I need and stick back in after I’m done with it. How cool is that? Here’s some pictures:

cimg3404

cimg3407

Just so you don’t think he’s the only sweet one, I did some pretty nice stuff too including designing a personalized magazine for him that chronicles a bunch of stories about us, baking him his favorite cake, and writing a message out for him in his favorite candy (hot tamales) for him to wake up to:

cimg3385

ps- he had already messed up the “I” and the “E” before the photo was taken- I didn’t just do a crappy job. Alright, enough with the sappy stuff. On to the food. After we got out of bed I made the usual Saturday breakfast- toasted arnold’s sandwich thins with melted reduced fat cheese, two eggs over easy, and everything topped with some salsa. I also had two clementines on the side.

cimg3386

After breakfast I grabbed a candy (airhead) from Ryan’s parents Valentine’s day care package:

cimg3393

We got dressed and drove to Wellesley for a walk around the lake on Wellesley’s campus. Wellesley College has an absolutely gorgeous campus with a 3 mile lake in the center of it, and I absolutely love going for walks around it. Unfortunately yesterday is was VERY icy around the lake and I didn’t want to die so we turned back early and didn’t get all the way around 😦 Oh well, it was nice while it lasted and we’ll be back in the spring!

We left Wellesley and headed to the movies because Ryan agreed to see Confessions of a Shopaholic with me! Most of you don’t know Ryan so I just have to say that’s a big deal for him. He absolutely hates movies like that but he knew I wanted to see it so we went 🙂 We got out of the movie around four and were absolutely starving so we headed to California Pizza Kitchen for a late lunch. Ryan’s been wanting to go there for months and has been begging me but I have been avoiding it like the plague. Yesterday I gave in. I started with some bread with a little butter (x2)

cimg3394

For my entree I ordered a 1/2 order the the Thai Crunch Salad. Not the healthiest choice I could have made, but it also could have been worse.

cimg3397

CPK was in a mall and Confessions of a Shopaholic really made me want to go shopping, so that’s what we did! I showed a lot of self-restraint with not buying loads of crap and as the movie taught me asked myself “do I really need this?” But in the end I did end up with one purchase- an absolutely gorgeous dress from BCBG that Ryan said he wouldn’t let me get away with not getting 🙂 Usually he’s the one that tells me to stop buying stuff, but he said this one was too good to let it get away. I’m REALLYYYYYYYY happy with it- I just feel so good in it and can’t wait to wear it out! Don’t you love that feeling? I tried to find it online to show you guys, but I can’t…I’ll just have to give you a picture when I get to wear it 🙂

The plan for dinner was Ryan cooking for meeee. In the nearly six years we’ve been together, Ryan has cooked for me maybe once. So this was very exciting news. He got thin sirloin steaks to grill, and was making me a steak salad 🙂 Oh, and the appetizer planned was tomato and mozzarella salad drizzled with EVOO and balsamic. And chocolate covered strawberries for dessert. I can’t think of a better meal. Unfortunately I was still stuffed from such a late lunch, so we decided to push this nice big dinner off until Sunday. We did share a tomato-mozzarella salad for dinner, but couldn’t eat anything else. Here’s the big plate Ryan made for us:

cimg3400

Alright guys, I’m off to get my Sunday started. See you back later today for today’s eats!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Beautiful! Ryan’s gift to you is SO sweet and thoughtful(and useful!). I still love the magazine idea, too 🙂 Sounds like you guys had a picturesque day! Can’t wait to see his cooking for you tonight.
I just left you a long-ass voicemail (sorry, I hate listening to long voicemails but I always seem to leave them for other people). I’m just going to start dinner now so I’ll be around for a while or maybe we can talk later in the week?

Comment by Lara (Thinspired)

oh i love the sappy stuff! ryan’s gift is so thoughtful!

Comment by sue




Leave a Reply

