Inna Scribbles


Lucky Lady (all meals 02/15/09)
February 15, 2009, 6:15 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals, Snack

Today I feel like one lucky lady. I know that I’m very lucky and fortunate for what I have in general, but it’s rare that I actually feel it, and today I was full of that feeling. I started the day by lounging in bed for a loooooong time. I woke up around 9:00, but it was around 11:00 by the time I actually got out of bed. Ryan and I just stayed under the warm covers, snuggling and talking for a few hours before getting our butts up and moving. I really never take the time to just lounge in bed and enjoy it, so it was a really great special treat that I think I’m going to try to make time for more often.

In addition to a wonderful morning, my day was filled with absolutely wonderfully delicious food. Literally everything I ate was sooooooo yummy.

Breakfast:

I started my (late) morning off with a yogurt mess combo- about 1/2 cup nonfat plain yogurt, strawberries, 1/2 banana, and 2 big scoops of organic pear butter. Like usual, I sprinkled everything with some cinnamon. Yum!

cimg3411

After breakfast Ryan and I went meandering around town, just sort of exploring new areas without any particular plan to get some fresh air in. It was cold but still nice and sunny today, so I tried to take advantage of the weather and Ryan was nice enough to accompany me πŸ™‚

Lunch

While walking around town I got hungry for lunch but didn’t want to eat too much since we had plans for Ryan to cook dinner tonight. We popped into a sushi place (can’t remember the name but it’s in David Square for all you Bostonians) and I ordered one roll to sate my hunger but not put me over the edge in terms of fullness. It was called the tiger roll and it’s basically a spicy tuna roll with avocado but oh my was it delicious. I’ve often heard people describe good quality sushi as “melt in your mouth good” and today I experienced that- we’ll definitely be going back there and I’ll get the name of the place for you guys. The only downside was that I ordered it with brown rice but they forgot and brought it with white rice and I was too hungry to send it back. Plus, it’s just not in my nature. Oh well, it was delicious and I enjoyed every last bite.

cimg3414

Dinner

I continued feeling like a very lucky lady when we got back home- I got to sit back and relax as Ryan cooked my dinner! He made up the menu and went shopping all by himself too which was really nice because that’s definitely always my job.

For starters Ryan made me a caprese salad (tomato and mozzarella) drizzled with EVOO and balsamic:

cimg3416

The main course was an AMAZING steak salad- the base was a mix of spring lettuce and baby arugula and there was also some red onion and cherry tomatoes thrown in. And, of course, the steak Ryan grilled up. Here’s the beauty:

cimg3419

And for dessert two chocolate-covered strawberries:

cimg3428

You’d think I’d be STUFFED sick but it was really nice because most of the portions were actually pretty small. So instead I just feel wonderfully full and content. Now that Ryan’s shown me what he can do, there’s no way I’m letting him get away with not cooking for me once in a while!

Oh, and I forgot to photograph them, but I snacked on some pistachios earlier in the day.

Alright guys, I’m off to enjoy the rest of this wonderful day. Hope you had a great Sunday!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Man, I’ve been craving sushi – holding off till my Asia trip though! πŸ™‚
I had a caprese salad as a starter for vday dinner too. Very cool that Ryan cooked for you!

Comment by Elina

your dinner looks like it was served in a restaurant! way to go ryan!

Comment by sue

Nice!! Everything looks wonderful, especially dessert πŸ™‚ Maybe when we next get together, we’ll just have Ryan cook for us instead πŸ˜‰

Comment by Lara (Thinspired)

i love caprese salad!! glad you enjoyed a nice relaxing day!

Comment by Summer Slim

Hi Inna! Last night was so much fun… I just wish the table hadn’t been sooo long πŸ˜‰ I look forward to chatting with you the next time we all get together!

Comment by Lauren




Leave a Reply

