Inna Scribbles


Flying By (all meals 02/04/09)
February 4, 2009, 6:01 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals

Does anyone else feel like this week is flying by? I can’t believe Wednesday is almost over and there are only two workdays left in this week! I’m not complaining though- I’m looking forward to a nice part relaxing part get stuff done weekend. Number one on the agenda is finding some reasonably priced tickets to Israel- I’m going there in April and the cheapest tickets I’ve been able to find thus far are like $1300- I know I can do better than that!

Brunch:

I worked from home again this morning since I had another prison visit scheduled for this afternoon. This meant sleeping in more than usual (yay!) and a nice leisurely morning where I took my sweet time with everything. I made myself a cup of coffee when I got up but didn’t up making anything to eat until around 11, so the meal was really kinda breakfast and lunch in one. I had toasted Arnold’s Sandwich Thins with crunchy Barney Butter and 1/2 of a banana. As Ryan would say when he really likes something, “nummers.” I’ll definitely be having this again! Quick, easy, delicious, healthy, and very filling!

cimg3164

Dinner

I had a pretty early dinner tonight since Ryan had a meeting for class he had to get to by 7:15. It worked out well though, since it had been quite a while since I’d eaten. For dinner I broiled some really yummy chicken that I rubbed down with a combination of spices- garlic powder, salt, chipotle chili pepper, cumin, paprika, and red pepper flakes. Nice and spicy, just how I like it! It was a really yummy combination of flavors and the chicken was cooked really nicely if I do say so myself 🙂 On the side I had some asparagus and more sauteed veggies for some extra color and nutrition- zucchini, mushrooms, and bell pepper. Here’s my plate:

cimg3167

That’s half a chicken breast, and I still have the other half to somehow incorporate into lunch tomorrow.

I had lots of dessert tonight. I started with a grapefruit since I was craving citrus and hoping it would take care of my sweet tooth craving. It was  super yummy, but I still wanted something sweet after eating it. So I went for TJ’s dark chocolate covered edamame and ate 1/2 of a serving (100 cals). More nummers.

cimg3172

cimg3182

As you may have noticed, I have stopped counting calories for the last week or so. This is partly because I got lazy, but also partly because I got really annoyed and frustrated with not reaching my goals. I think I’m going to give it another shot though, and start up counting again soon. I think. My goal is to start this weekend or maybe just the start of next week.

Alright, shower and the bedtime for me. Night!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

what? chocolate covered edamame? how have i not heard of this before! do you use a website to track your calories? some of them break down your food into protein/carbs/fats which i like because it makes it easier to add in extra calories when you have an idea of what you’re missing in your diet (is that what you mean by not reaching goals?) i use the self diet club which has a free trial if you don’t subscribe to the magazine.

re: overnight oats. i use equal parts liquid and oats then add in extras (fruit, nuts, pb) in the morning, you can microwave or eat cold…i prefer it cold though. another popular oatmeal breakfast i’ve seen around is “fitnessista’s breakfast cookie” but i’ve never tried it.

sorry for leaving an essay on your post! goodnight 🙂

Comment by sue

yeah- trader joe’s sells chocolate covered edamamae! its a new discovery for me too and it’s really really yummy! plus you can pretend its also kinda healthy 🙂

i just use calorieking/the back of the package to track calories though I think if i keep with it ill maybe start using sparkpeople? i signed up for an account there but im being lazy about teaching myself to navigate the site…i love the idea though of calorie counting with a website that breaks the cals down into different food groups- how cool! ill have to check out the self diet club website (i dont subscribe to the magazine but i imagine it cant be THAT expensive if i really love the service). Thanks so much for the idea and info!

and thanks for all the input about oats! ill try it your way for sure and maybe give fitnessista’s breakfast cookie a shot too.

Comment by innascribbles

My favorite part about this site is how you arrange your fruit. I never know what shape I’m going to see.

Comment by Ryan

try not to get discouraged with the calories. sometimes i find that i can get obsesssive with it. as long as you are eating well-rounded meals, which it looks like you are, you will meet your goals!

Comment by Summer Slim

OMG I LOOOOOVE Tj’s chocolate covered edamame.
I think you should restart counting calories because you obviously weren’t eating enough. You’ll get it right – don’t get discouraged! I think it’s much easier to add calories than cut on them. You can sneak them in so your body can get enough fuel to function without you feeling overly stuffed.

Comment by Elina




Leave a Reply

