Inna Scribbles


Adventurous (all meals 02/03/09)
February 3, 2009, 7:38 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals, Snack

Hey guys! It’s 10 pm and I just got back from by Spanish class, but since I’m working home tomorrow morning and don’t have to get up as early as usual I figured I had time for a quick post. I have another prison visit scheduled for tomorrow afternoon, and another for Friday-work has been crazy busy lately! It’s always like that though- I’ll have a period of time when I have to make 3 trips a week out to prison, and then a 2 or 3 week period where I only have to go once or maybe not at all. I wish it was a little more evenly spread out but it’s really not my choice- when someone gets assaulted I gotta go take the pictures of their injuries and neither they nor I have any control over when that happens (though we both hope for never).

Breakfast:

I was feeling adventurous and brave this morning (well, after I had my coffee I was) so I decided to give oatmeal a try. I’ve had it before and never liked the taste at all (I know, blasphemy) but it’s so healthy and quick that it makes a great breakfast option so I decided I had to give it another shot. Today was the day. I microwaved half a cup of oats with part skim milk and part water and added in 1/2 a banana, some strawberries, and some frozen blueberries. I gotta be honest with you guys, I still didn’t like it. I took 2 small bites before giving up and eating all the fruit around the oatmeal and tossing the oats themselves. But, the good news is I didn’t hate it as much as I remembered so maybe there is hope after all- perhaps after a few more tries I can train my taste buds to like this nutritious breakfast?

cimg3149

For all you readers, do you have any quick and healthy breakfast ideas? What do you eat for breakfast? Cereal really doesn’t work well for me (doesn’t hold me over very long) and as much as I love my yogurt combos, smoothies, and lox sandwiches for breakfast it’s getting a little repetitive and I don’t want to bore you guys to death…Ideas? Please?

Morning Snack:

Since I was in the office today, I planned to work out during lunch. But I knew I needed to refuel from breakfast in order to have the energy to make it through the tough class I was planning on taking- fruit is great but doesn’t hold you over too long on its own…so I had a snack of an absolutely amazingly delicious pear and a light string cheese:

cimg3151

This snack was perfect as pre-workout fuel. It gave me the energy to make it through my killer bootcamp class but didn’t weigh me down since it wasn’t too heavy.

Lunch:

I wasn’t hungry for lunch for quite some time. Weird. Around 3ish I finally forced myself to eat a little something. I popped open a can of TJ’s organic vegan split pea soup and ate about half of it (what you see in the bowl is the whole can but I only ate half of that) and 1/2 of a gingersnap larabar.

cimg3153cimg3155

Dinner:

Ryan and I went out to dinner tonight since I had my Spanish class again and had no time to come home and make dinner. We went to a place called Firefly, an American Bistro in the Back Bay neighborhood of Boston. It looked cute from the outside so we decided to give it a shot. To start they brought out absolutely amazing fresh warm bread. I couldn’t help myself and had a piece. Ok, fine, two pieces. I’m a sucker for warm bread.

cimg3157

For my entree, I ordered a buffalo chicken salad. So many bloggies have been talking about buffalo chicken dip and other buffalo chicken yummies they had at superbowl sunday so I was really craving this taste when i saw it on the menu 🙂 Plus, Ryan and I didn’t do anything for superbowl sunday so I figured I could indulge a bit. I had the dressing on the side (I used very little) and didn’t touch the blue cheese they brought with it (not a fan of blue cheese) so it actually wasn’t that bad of an indulgence. The salad was HUGEEEEEE- I ate less than half of it and was absolutely stuffed. But that could also be attributed to the bread I had to start and some of Ryan’s fries that I stole (not pictured)- oops.

cimg3160

And now I’m craving something sweet. I think I’m going for a percy pig. Just one though, it’s nearly 11 pm! And then I’m off to shower and then sleeeeep. Night!

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh no! At least you gave it a try. I hate to beat a dead horse here but there has got to be a way you like it! I know it’s not 100% healthy, but maybe if there’s a next time you can add some brown sugar (or Splenda) to sweeten it…that really helps!
Breakfast ideas…do you like PB&J or BB for your arnolds/English muffins? I’ll try to think of some other stuff!

Comment by Thinspired

What is it that you don’t like about oats? Are they too bland for you? If that’s the case, try adding bananas (and raisins- optional) to the oats before you microwave them. The bananas melt into the oats and it just makes very sweet and delicious bowl. I had oats this morning. Yum! (Btw, I used to hate oats too but the bananas made all the difference for me).

Great job on listening to your body and only eating half of the salad. I definitely have a problem with eating everything on my plate especially if it’s delicous (sounds like the buffalo chicken salad was). Happy hump day! 🙂

Comment by Elina

I think it’s the texture I have a problem with mainly- I just haven’t figured out what texture I like them at. I added bananas yesterday, but I added them after. I will definitely try nuking them next time along with the oats- thanks for the suggestion!

Comment by innascribbles

Thanks for the suggestions lara! Ill keep trying- I agree that there has got to be a way I like them- I just haven’t found it yet 🙂

Comment by innascribbles

omg! i’m so glad i’m not the only one. i’m not in love with oats and i feel like there’s something wrong with me when i see everyone else enjoying them SO much. i started off with those flavored instant packets to “train my taste buds,” but it still takes me months to finish off a canister of quaker. have you tried overnight oats w/ milk or yogurt? i prefer that because it tastes more like eating cereal or yogurt (to me atleast).

Comment by sue

sue- what do you mean by “overnight oats.” Do you soak them overnight and then microwave in the morning? And what proportion of oats to milk/yogurt do you use?

Comment by innascribbles

Have you ever tried PB & banana waffle sandwiches?!?! They’re the best!!!!

http://www.strongandhealthy.wordpress.com

Comment by strongandhealthy

haha- funny you should mention that! I had a Barney butter and banana sandwich on sandwich things today- maybe ill try a waffle next time. thanks for the suggestions!

Comment by innascribbles




Leave a Reply

