Inna Scribbles


Victory Is Mine (all meals 01/27/09)
January 28, 2009, 7:32 am
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals

Hey all! Sorry for the lack of post last night. I have Spanish classes Tuesday nights until 9 pm so I don’t get home until 9:30 at the earliest. Then I have to shower, prepare lunch for the next day, etc and get to bed at a reasonable hour, so I’m not sure how feasible posting Tuesday nights will be…We’ll have to see how that goes.

Before I get to yesterday’s food, I have to thank Lara for making me aware of this really cool giveaway. I’ve been searching for a food scale- thanks so much  Lara! Check it out guys:

Check out the scale giveaway on Roni’s Weight Loss Blog! I can win an Affordable Food Scale from Eat Smart and so can you! Click here for contest details!

Breakfast:

Yesterday’s breakfast was an oldie but goodie with just a little twist. I made arnold’s sandwich thins with lox on top but instead of using my regular light cream cheese I used a new cream cheese substitute product I bought at the health food store on Sunday- Tofutti Better Than Cream Cheese- it’s a non dairy soy cream cheese substitute that is absolutely delicious! My friend who is going vegan recommended that I try it and I’m so glad she did.

picture-016

Breakfast was light calorie wise- Arnold’s sandwich thins- 100 cals, 1T Tofutti- 30 cals, lox- 30 cals. Total= 160 cals

Lunch:

I was not hungry AT ALL for lunch yesterday for some reason. Finally around 2 pm I made myself eat because I knew whether or not I wanted to it was time. Lunch was a yummy medley of things: 3/4 can of tuna with 1t light mayo (140 cals), veggie mix of bell pepper, cucumber and tomato (50 cals), bag of popcorn (100 cals), and a zucchini bran muffin for dessert (115 cals). I loved that there were so many different flavors and textures in my lunch today- my mouth gets bored easily even with yummy food unless there’s a variety of tastes and textures! Total lunch calories= 405

picture-017picture-019picture-018

Dinner:

Since I have my Spanish class Tuesday nights and don’t have time to get home and make dinner before it starts, Ryan and I have made Tuesday night our going out for dinner night (at least as long as this class lasts).  Yesterday, I won an ongoing battle and convinced Ryan to go to b.good! I have been dying to try their southwestern chicken salad ever since Elina raved about it a little while ago. Seriously- I had dreams about this salad. The salad has: mesclun, avocado, corn, tomatoes, black beans, toasted corn, chipotle balsamic dressing. I got mine minus the avocado (I don’t like avocado but love guacamole- how weird is that?) and with the dressing on the side (I used maybe 1 teaspoon total- very little). This salad was absolutely delicious– definitely one of the best I’ve ever had! And I had my hopes and expectations up high so that’s saying a lot! The whole salad is 456 cals but without the avocado and with so little dressing I’m guessing I got maybe 400 cals out of it? But then I did take 2 bites of Ryan’s burger (not pictured) so I’ll add 50 cals back on.  So dinner total=450 cals. Here is the bowl of goodness:

picture-021

And me obviously enjoying it way too much:

picture-022

After dinner I wanted something sweet so I grabbed a TJ’s 100 calorie chocolate bar:

picture-020

Total calories for the day: 1,115.  This is getting pretty annoying- I may stop counting soon.

See you guys later today with today’s eats!





8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Score! Glad you convinced Ryan to go to b.good. What did he think? Still too healthy? 🙂
I don’t know how you can eat so little without even trying. If you want to increase your calories without too much effort, maybe switch to a bagel for breakfast (or at least a hearty english muffin) instead of sandwich thins, and add a few snacks in between meals. Just my suggestion from looks at this day.

Comment by Elina

He liked it ok actually- not his favorite burger ever but I think he would go back if i really wanted to. and i will want to. 🙂 I LOVED the salad- thanks for the suggestion!

Re the food- The thing is i dont think i eat so little. im certainly not trying to (I REALLY hope people get this) and i think my volume of food is just fine. its actually increased since i started counting calories b/c i am trying to get that number up. its just that somehow in the end the calories dont add up to what i think they should add up to…I compare it to other peoples food blogs and food volume wise, etc I dont think I am eating less than them…its like the meals seem big and well balanced (I think) but then the calories dont add up the way they logically should. I think I am going to buy english muffins at the store once the thins run out and see how that goes- hopefully it will help. Thanks so much for the suggestion and feedback!

Comment by innascribbles

Love the Better Than Cream Cheese. I wish I had access to it 😦 I think Tofutti also makes kick ass ice creams and stuff.

Comment by Lara

I heard! That’s next on the list to try 🙂

Comment by innascribbles

I’m addicted to the hundred calorie popcorn bags! I find that they’re my “go to” afternoon snack because there’s a lot in the bag, but it’s low in calories. I didn’t know Trader Joes made 100 calorie chocolate bars…I have to check them out!

Comment by Summer Slim

I know- I love those popcorn bags! I make them at work all the time and make my whole office smell like popcorn, hehe.
TJ’s 100 calories chocolate bars are delicious- and they come in both milk and dark chocolate! Hope you like them.

Comment by innascribbles

I love that breakfast! I’m a huge snack size popcorn fan! Yum! That’s a great pic of you…haha!! Have a super night!

http://www.strongandhealthy.wordpress.com

Comment by strongandhealthy

Thanks Michelle 🙂

Comment by innascribbles




Leave a Reply

