Inna Scribbles


Snowy day (all meals 01/28/09)
January 28, 2009, 6:48 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals

I was one of like four people at my office today. Granted, my office only has like 15 people total working there, but that’s still ridiculous! Almost no one came in due to the snowy weather and horrible road conditions. Since I live about 2 minutes from the subway station and do not drive to work I had no excuse not to go. After work I ventured over to the supermarket which is not at all far from the subway station but took forever to get to. The roads were so slippery I walked at a snail’s pace so as not to fall and often times the water/slush came up to mid calf. The walk home from the supermarket, which usually takes 5 minutes tops, ended up being closer to 15-20. I am so over East coast weather which sucks because I still have another 1.5 years of it to withstand before I can move back to CA.

I tried to mix it up a little with today’s eats so I wouldn’t bore you guys too much. A lot of the same “staples” were consumed but with a bit of a different twist.

Breakfast:

I made myself a smoothie to start the morning off, but instead of my usual peanut butter addition I added hemp powder that I bought during my health store outing. Instead of buying a whole big jar of hemp powder I bought two little 90 calorie packets of different flavors since I didn’t know if I would like it. The packet I used today was berry pomegranate flavor, and it got mixed in with a whole bunch of mixed frozen fruit (peaches, strawberries, grapes, cantaloupe, pineapple) and frozen mixed berries (blueberries, raspberries, blackberries). Like Lara mentioned, the texture was a bit grainy but definitely something I could adjust to. The most surprising thing was how much more thick and filling it made the smoothie- it honestly took me soooo long to drink it because I was full after just a few sips. And I didn’t even get to finish it because I was running late for work because drinking the thing was taking me so long because it was so filling! Anywho, I ended up drinking about 2/3 of this before I had to run out the door. Definitely a new taste to get used to but I think it might be worth it because of all the nutritional benefits. Oh, and “new taste” is not a euphemism forย  “bad taste”- honestly.

cimg3074

Calories- fruit- 200, hemp powder- 90. But since I only drank about 2/3 of the smoothie it was really more like 190 cals for breakfast.

Lunch:

I was really hungry by the time lunchtime rolled around- what a nice change! I haven’t felt truly hungry in a while, and I always find it more satusfying to eat when I’m hungry rather than just because it’s time. I decided to bring potstickers and some mixed veggies to work again today since it was so delicious last time. Plus, last time I was a numpty and forgot my camera so you guys didn’t get to see the goodness that was this lunch.I also decided to heed Elina’s advice and transfer my lunch from tupperware to plate- that made a huge difference in the delciousness factor. Thanks Elina! So lunch was 9 trader joe’s chicken and veggie gyoza potstickers and a side of sauteed mixed veggies (bell pepper, onion, green beans). Yummy!

cimg3079

For dessert, I had a pear:

cimg3082

Lunch calories: 9 potstickers- 295 cals, veggies- 70 cals, pear 80 cals. Total= 445 cals.

Dinner:

For dinner Ryan and I had one of our favorite old classics- baked salmon with a side of mashed potatoes. Have I mentioned how much I love mashed potatoes? It’s a lot. They’re the ultimate comfort food. Potatoes in general are by far my favorite carb, but mashed potatoes, oh mashed potatoes…Ryan and I make aย  healthy version with a tiny bit of 1% milk and a bit less than 1T of Earth Balance so I can enjoy them relatively guilt free. They’re SO GOOD. We’re thinking of starting up a business some day ๐Ÿ™‚

In an effort to bulk up a bit more calories for the day I skipped my usual side of veggies and had 1 cup of mashed potatoes instead. That was pretty much heaven.

cimg3083

Calories for dinner: baked salmon- 255, 1 cup mash potatoes made with 1% milk and Earth Balance- 200 cals. Total cals= 455.

Adding that up with breakfast and lunch it’s 1090 calories total. Breakfast really screwed me over. Oh well, tomorrow’s a new day right? Night everyone!

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That smoothie looks great! I love salmon! Have a great night!

http://www.strongandhealthy.wordpress.com

Comment by strongandhealthy

Our business is going to be sweet. When we finally get over this stupid law school obsession we’ll work at our true calling: you’ll pour the milk and I’ll mash.

Comment by Ryan

You guys are so funny. Inna, do you put milk or some liquid in your smoothie? Wow, that is a lot of fruit if you don’t! Maybe that will help up the calories and also make it less thick–a little milk and a banana for creaminess. Just a suggestion!
Lunch & Dinner look especially delicious.

Comment by Lara

I put ice in my smoothies but maybe I should try adding milk- good call Lara. Thanks for the suggestion, I’ll definitely try it next time I make a smoothie!

Comment by innascribbles

Food tastes way better on a plate! ๐Ÿ™‚
Do you have one of those portable coffee mugs (whatever those things are called…)? Usually when I run late and still have coffee/another beverage that I’m not with in the morning, I just pour that in and go. Maybe you can do that with your smoothy next time?
I liked Ryan’s comment about the business. Cute!

Comment by Elina

Yummy stirfry!
And I need to try some hemp protein powder !

Comment by Erin

Elina- no I don’t have one of those but I really need to get one! For smoothies but also for my morning coffee which I never seem to have time to drink/finish and then I have to go out and spend money on buying some mid day. oh, and about the mashed potatoes- since you live right near us you and adam can be our taste testers ๐Ÿ™‚

Erin- hemp powder is definitely worth trying I think! Like I said, it’s going to take some getting used to, but the nutritional benefits our stellar and it’s not bad tasting by any means!

Comment by innascribbles

Thanks for the comment and I’m glad you may reconsider oats!

Comment by Erin




Leave a Reply

