Inna Scribbles


Rough day (all meals 01/26/09)
January 26, 2009, 4:52 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch

It’s been kind of a rough day for me. I love my job so much, but it’s certainly not easy or uplifting work and today was a particularly difficult day. We found out today that a client I met with in prison this past Friday committed suicide today. This guy was extremely mentally ill and there is nothing anyone could have done to prevent it, and I know that logically, but my mind can’t help wandering back to signs I should have noticed but didn’t pay attention to, etc. I guess that’s just a natural…I can’t believe it was only three days ago I was talking to him about how he had been beaten by guards at the prison- I was supposed to follow up on that visit with various records requests and witness interviews and it’s weird and sad to think I won’t be doing that anymore. The case will be closed, and that will be that.

Anyway, sorry to be so depressing. Hopefully tomorrow I’ll have happier news to report. For now, here are today’s eats:

Breakfast:

I made myself a yummy mess of yogurt with various toppings for breakfast this morning. The add-ins were a bit different than usual based on what I had in the house, but the result was equally delicious. In the mix is 1/2 cup fage 0% yogurt (60 cals), 1/4 cup trail mix (160 cals), 2 T shredded coconut (70 cals), and 1/2 of an apple (35 cals). Total cals= 325.

cimg3035

Lunch:

Breakfast held me over nicely until I came home for lunch around 12:30. I never come home for lunch when I’m at the office but since I had a prison visit this morning I had to drop my car off at home. Usually when I go to prison I spend the rest of the day working from home, and that was originally the plan for today.

I decided to take advantage of being home and being able to eat from a plate and made myself a nice salad. In the salad is spring lettuce mix, red onion, cucumber, bell pepper, tomato, and a little bit of pesto chicken I had leftover all dressed with 1T of rice vinegar. The total cals for the salad were 320, but I only ate about 3/4 of it so it was about 240 cals total.

cimg3042

I knew this was not enough for lunch so I made myself a half turkey and cheese sandwich on an Arnold’s Sandwich thin to go along with it.

calorie breakdown for 1/2 sandwich: 1/2 thin- 50 cals, 1T taramosalata- 60 cals, 1 piece reduced fat cheese- 50 cals, turkey- 40 cals, spring lettuce mix- 20 cals. Total=220 cals.

cimg3050

I finished lunch off with 2 percy pigs- YUMMY. 50 cals.

cimg3051

So the total calories for lunch was 460- not bad!

After lunch i got a call from the office about what had happened with out client and was asked to come in because I would have to talk to newspaper reporters, give interviews, answer questions, etc since I was the last person from our office to see him alive and it was so recently. So yeah, that was not such a fun afternoon.

Dinner:

I stayed at the office late and wasn’t hungry for dinner when I came home. I figured I should eat anyway though, so I made myself some sauteed flounder encrusted in whole wheat flour with sauteed veggies (onion, bell pepper, green beans) on the side. It was really really delicious- this is my new favorite white fish!

cimg3053

Calories from dinner: flounder- 250 cals, 1T whole wheat flour- 30 cals, veggies- 70 cals. Total=Ā  350 cals.

After dinner I really wanted my usual grapefruit but I was all out šŸ˜¦ So instead I had a Breyer’s all natural fruit pop- these have only 40 cals and are really delicious and refreshing!

cimg3054

Total calories for the day= 1225. Movin on up!

Night everyone!


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sorry to hear about such a crap day, Inna. That really sucks. I’m so sorry.
At least your food was good? šŸ˜€

Comment by Lara

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m glad i found yours now. Your salad is beautiful. I hope your day improves!

Comment by Erin

Wow, that has to be hard to wrap your brain around! But I honestly don’t think you could have prevented it.

Love how the tomatoes look on your plate!

Comment by biz319




Leave a Reply

