Inna Scribbles


Quickie (all meals 01/24/09)
January 24, 2009, 5:35 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Snack

Hey guys! I’m going to have to make this post a quickie because I need to get ready and run out to door very soon! Ryan and I are going out for drinks/dancing with some friends of mine from college and right now I look and feel gross with not much time to change that. So, without further ado, here are today’s’ eats:

Breakfast:

Ok so breakfast today was one of the most delicious things I have had in a REALLY long time. I toasted up some arnold’s sandwich thins and melted some cheese on top of them. While that was getting done, I fried up two eggs, over easy. I popped an egg on each side of the thin and topped the whole thing off with salsa. How freaking amazing does that sound? It was so good and I took some mouthwatering pictures I was so excited to post. After gobbling down the breakfast and turning on my camera to look through the pics, my camera decided to freak out on me and delete all the files I had saved on it. GRRRRRRRRR. I am so angry about this because the pics were SO GOOD and I really wanted to show you guys! I guess the only solution is making this meal again sometime soon! Won’t take much convincing.

Calories for breakfast: Sandwich thins- 100, 2 slices of light provolone cheese- 100, 2 eggs done over easy on a skillet- 200, salsa- 10. Total=410

Lunch:

There was no formal lunch today for a variety of reasons. First off, breakfast was late since I slept in somewhat. Second, right after breakfast Ryan and I went to help out a team with mock trial and didn’t get home until around 7:00ish, and were working the whole time in between. So “lunch” was really two snacks, and was definitely on the light side- a kind fruit and nut bar (eaten around 2:30 pm) and a light string cheese (eaten around 6:00 pm):

cimg2984cimg29512

Calories for “lunch” are light- the bar is 175 but I gave a friend a few bite so I’ll count 150. Plus 50 for the light string cheese. Total=200

Dinner:

I was STARVING by the time we got home for dinner. Thank goodness we had some leftover Indian meatballs from last night that I could just reheat. I also made some brown rice on the side even though I’m not a big fan since I knew I was light on calories for the day and didn’t want to be ridiculously low for my final count. I had 3 large meatballs and 1/2 cup cooked rice (1/8 cup uncooked). The meatballs were just as good if not better than yesterday! No more leftovers unfortunately, but Ryan and I both liked them a lot. And they’re so healthy- you’ll definitely be seeing them again!

cimg3015

Calories: turkey- 200, 1/2 sweet potato- 90, 1/2 cup cooked brown rice- 85. Total=375

I also had a dessert of a grapefruit so add 100 more calories to dinner. So total dinner calories with dessert are 475

cimg3018

So adding up all the calories for the day that brings me to 1085. Ok, so I know I’m not doing so hot on getting this number up. But I think what threw me off today was having no lunch. If I’d actually been home and been able to eat I think I would have been up to 1400 at least. I considered trying to force myself to eat more after dinner even though I was stuffed, but really I don’t think that’s the way to go. I don’t want to cram in all my calories at the end of the day even if I’m low, I want to nicely and evenly spread them throughout. Ryan and I are just about to go out and meet friends for drinks, so I’m sure my grand total number of calories for the day will end up being significantly higher than 1085- drinks are caloric you know!

Hope you all have a fun Saturday night!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oooh I really like the rice like that! Nice. It looks like you do what I do and usually overestimate on calories šŸ˜‰ I like to round up! I usually count 1/2 cup of b.rice as 100 calories though, didn’t think I was rounding up too much on that one. I wonder who’s off? That would help get your calories up! Hope you guys have a fun night.

Comment by Lara

Hmm, maybe different brown rice is different? I use uncle ben’s quick cooking rice (brown rice that cooks in like 10 minutes) and it says it’s 170 calories for 1/4 cup of dry rice which is equivalent to 1 cup coked rice. Since I had 1/2 cup cooked rice I just divided 170 in half= 85. What kind of rice do you use?

Comment by innascribbles

I just use the store brand and cook it, then measure it into 85 g servings. I bet it differs based on how tight/loose one packs the 1/2 cup? Thinking about it, I’ve done 100g servings before and still had it fit in the 1/2 cup. So I bet that is it šŸ˜‰
I guess we’re only talking about 15 calories but I would like to know the final verdict!

Comment by Lara

Good point! I have no idea in grams since I don’t have a food scale. I really want to get one though. Do you like the one you have? Mind if I ask how much it cost?

Comment by innascribbles

Re: food scale. I think it’s a great idea for you to get one because it will help you with calories. It seems to me (just from the months spent with my food scale) that you are potentially overestimating some foods and underestimating others. Personally, it is not an overstatement to say owning a food scale changed my life. It put everything in perspective, like this rice question, or what exactly a “medium banana” is.
I don’t mind the question of cost at all but unfortunately we bought ours in the UK. Here’s a link to my post where I talk about our food scale and the link to where we bought it:
http://www.thinspiredblog.com/?p=2726
I’m sure you can get a good one at Target or on amazon for a decent price. Whatever the price, it’s worth it…just make sure to buy digital.
Off to read your new post šŸ˜‰

Comment by Lara




Leave a Reply

