Inna Scribbles


Success! (all meals 01/21/09)
January 21, 2009, 7:20 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Snack

Man, am I tired! It’s nearly 10 pm and I just got home! I worked like crazy all day, then had a quick dinner out with Ryan, and headed to my first day of Spanish class. This is a really chill class, something I’m taking out of pure desire, and although it only meets once a week I want to get the most out of it that I can. The first day of class went great! I used to speak Spanish really well but have lost a lot of it due to lack of practice. To my very pleasant surprise, it comes back quite quickly!

I brought the angel delights to work today and to say they were a huge hit and great success would be a serious understatement. Honestly, the 10 coworkers at our our staff meeting gobbled up ALL of the cookies in like 10 minutes! I didn’t even have one! I was quite happy- I got the fun of making cookies without the temptation of keeping them around the house. Well, maybe I wish I had saved 1 or 2 at home but oh well πŸ™‚

Breakfast

I started off my day with a reat little yogurt combo that was a bit different than usual since I had to use what I had on hand- 1/2 cup nonfat greek yogurt, 1/2 small banana, 1/4 cup trail mix, 2 T shredded coconut, and a handful of honey nut cheerios. I loved the addition of cereal to my yogurt combo- it added a nice little crunch to the meal. ..and I love crunch! The coconut was a nice touch as well- I think I’ll be making this again sometime soon. I’ll try to hold off and not have it tomorrow for fear of boring you to death, but I make no promises πŸ™‚

cimg2944

Mid-morning Snack:

Before our staff meeting I grabbed an apple to take with me since I knew this might be a long meeting…plus it helped me fight off the temptation of eating angel delights instead!

cimg2946

Unfortunately the meeting ran so long I missed the spin class I signed up for 😦 Boo. At least these meetings are usually only once a month or so…I’ll just have to make up for it with an extra sweaty steps class tomorrow!

Lunch:

I packed a really delicious salad for lunch today but I wasn’t very hungry for it. I ate about half of it anyway, but didn’t want to force myself to eat anymore. In the salad is: spring lettuce mix, a slice of turkey, Trader Joe’s Organic Soycutash mix (edamame, corn, bell pepper), salsa, and guacamole. Yummy!

cimg2950

I don’t know what’s up, but I’m not huge on lunch lately…And then I end up having bigger dinners which is a problem. I’d like to reverse those two but I always prefer a nice, warm, fresh home-cooked meal that’s not just being reheated, and I can only do that at dinner because of work…I also prefer salads that are freshly made and not packed the night before or morning of. Plus, I don’t know what it is but eating salad out of tupperware bother me! Is that weird? I enjoy it so much more on a plate…I’ll have to figure something out because this small lunch/big dinner pattern is a problem- any suggestions What do you usually bring for lunch?

Lunch concluded with a light string cheese (50 cals) and a small clementine which for some reason looks HUGE in this picture…

cimg2951cimg2953

Dinner

Ryan and I went out for dinner again tonight because I had class for real this time and no time to go home and cook dinner beforehand. We went to a really cute little place called 75 Chesnut in the Beacon Hill area of Boston.They brought warm gooey bread to start and I couldn’t resist:

cimg2956

For my meal I ordered an AMAZING salad and I loved everything about it- including that it was freshly made and not served in Tupperware! I ordered the Boston Bibb Salad which consisted of: Tender Bibb lettuce with goat cheese, dried cranberries, apples and roasted pecans, tossed with a lemon vinaigrette. The salad came topped with your choice of meat and I chose steak tenderloins wich were super tender and delicious! I’m not usually a huge red meat eater, but we never have it in the house so I sometimes take advantage of being out to order it. Here’s the yummyness:

cimg29571

Ryan ordered the steak sandwich, and I did munch on a few of his fries (not pictured). After dinner Ryan walked me back to my class, and on the way we stopped at a cafe where I got a chocolate chip cookie. I was dying for something sweet and couldn’t resist! The cookie was just ok, and I did try taking pictures but none of them came out 😦 Sorry.

Today wasn’t a total bust, but it wasn’t great either. I have hopes for a better tomorrow. And those hopes include new and improved lunch ideas. Anyone?


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I always struggle with work lunches, too. You’ve seen my random lunches where I just take little snacky things to make into a meal. If you have access to a microwave you can maybe do some homemade soups? I am with you and hate soggy sandwiches and salads. I’ll try to think of some more ideas but maybe with your salads you can bring a plate to work and see if you enjoy it more?
That dinner salad is lovely. I’d be all over that. Looks like a really cute place for dinner.

Comment by Lara

That’s so cool that you’re taking Spanish for fun! I’ve tried doing that a few times, but then run out of steam because it doesn’t count for anything and I’m a busy girl. πŸ™‚
Glad your co-workers liked the angel delights. Too bad you didn’t have to have any. I can’t bake without tasting my goodies (and the one you split with Ryan doesn’t count!). Most of the fun for me is eating the stuff!! lol
I wouldn’t worry too much about the smaller lunch and larger dinner. You have to listen to your body and if that’s what it wants – go for it! I keep a real bowl, a real plate and silverware at work because you’re right, eating out of tupperware is sometimes depressing even if the food is good. My co-workers make fun of me a little for that, because all they hear is silverware hitting the plate when I eat lunch and they say it sounds like I’m at a restaurant, but whatever. This is what works for me!
Last comment… I just saw 75 Chestnut on the Phantom Gourmet and it looked really good. I need to add this to our list of go-to places since you liked it too!

Comment by Elina

Lara- I try to avoid salad soggy-ness by bringing dressing on the side but it’s still not the same as when it’s made fresh just minutes before you eat it 😦 The dinner salad on the other hand was absolutely fabulous!

Speaking of which, Elina- you and Adam should definitely try 75 Chestnut! It’s such a cute place in such a cute area of town! I loved my salad, and Ryan really liked his steak sandwich although there were also lots of other delicious looking things on the menu including “Harvest Pumpkin Ravioli – Roasted local grown butternut squash,
vine ripened tomato vodka sauce.” Even as a non pasta fan this sounds great to me!
As for Spanish- I love the language and miss speaking it so much. Plus it’s so important for me to keep it up since lots of our clients don’t know English. If you have any interest, I’m always looking for people to meet with and practice- we can try talking recipes and food in Spanish and see how far we get πŸ™‚
I love the bringing a plate/bowl to work idea- I’ll have to do that for when i eat salad because it just makes it so much more enjoyable. I am glad I am not the only one with this weirdness πŸ™‚

Comment by innascribbles

My Spanish is practically non-existent at this point (I took it in college what seems like ages ago). But let’s do the cookie date at 75 Chestnut sometime, in English. lol πŸ™‚

Comment by Elina




Leave a Reply

