Inna Scribbles


Angel Delights (lunch and dinner 01/20/09)
January 20, 2009, 7:24 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Lunch

So, today didn’t quite go according to plan but I tried to do my best and roll with it and make the healthiest choices possible given the circumstances. I think I did pretty well all in all! The getting back on track wagon from this morning continued with a pretty kickass workout after the doctor’s appointment. I originally just planned to do the bootcamp class (which is KILLER) but got to the gym a bit early and decided to hop on the tradmill for a quick warm up. I thought I would just power walk or something, but ended up pushing myself to do a 1 mile run– yay. This warm up was followed by a very sweaty very intense bootcamp class- the class starts with a warm up of running laps, running with knees raised high in front of you, running with heels touching your butt, and then walking lunges. After we warm up, we do various circuits that last about 8 minutes each with a 30 second break between them for water. Each circuit begins with a minute of jump rope followed by all sorts of goodness- lunges, squats, push ups, planks, various ab exercises, mountain climbers, the list goes on and on. I love this class because it does a great job of combining cardio with strength training- my heart rate is always racing from jump rope, power jump squats, etc but I’m still working on building muscle! After the class I left the gym feeling pretty good!

Lunch

For lunch today I brought a salad from home- the base is spinach and it has all sorts of goodies thrown in- red onion, bell pepper, 2 slices of turkey, 1/4 cup nonfat mozzarella, and 1.5 T silvered almonds- yummy. I dressed it with 1.5 T balsamic vinaigrette. I ate probably about 3/4 of the whole thing.

cimg2908

I needed something sweet after (as usual) so I grabbed two clementines

cimg2911

Dinner

So the plan for dinner was to go  near my work since I have no time between work and Spanish class to go home and cook. In fact, the plan is to make the night of my classes a date night every week if possible, since I’ll never be able to make it back home, cook, eat, and get to class on time. Around 4 pm I got an email that my class got moved to Wednesday nights instead of Tuesday nights, so no class tonight. I was so bummed! I was really looking forward to class, plus I had nothing planned or defrosted or anything for dinner since I thought we were going out because of my class. I had to stay at work later and couldn’t come up with anything since our fridge is pretty empty, so we ended up going out to eat anyway. This is kind of a bummer since I’ll have to go out again tomorrow and I hate eating out so much, but I think I ordered fairly healthy and did the best I could. I begged Ryan to go to b.good since Elina raved about their southwestern chicken salad but he wouldn’t budge- anything that sounds healthy is a no-no with him. Grrrrr. Oh well, we ended up going to a really great Korean place by our house that I really like. They brought some free little samplings to start with but I didn’t have anything except a few bites of the kimchi– gotta save room for the good stuff. I ordered a spicy bean sprout salad to start but didn’t like it so only had two bites- here is what it looked like:

cimg2915

For my main dish I ordered an amazing soup- the yu kae jang– its a spicy broth based soup that had in it a little bit of beef, scallions, sweet potato noodles, egg, and napa and taro stern. They also bring you rice to put in it but I didn’t touch that- it had noodles inside already. Here’s a look at the deliciousness:

cimg2921

I ate all of the broth and most of the ingredients inside it too. I left a bit of the beef and some of the noodles because I was getting too full. It was very very yummy though- and very highly recommended if you ever go to “Seoul” around the Porter Square area…

When I came back from dinner Ryan and I got an impromptu workout shoveling the driveway (his job) and the mounds of snow on the car (my job). After a quick run to the grocery store, I came home and made angel delights for our staff meeting at work tomorrow. I haven’t had any yet- they are cooling in the fridge- but they smell divine. Thanks Elina for this wonderful recipe- I’ll let you know what everyone at work thinks of them! Here’s a photo of my babies:

cimg2922

I can’t believe how much there is still left to do tonight! And it’s already so late! Gotta run- Goodnight everyone!

Edit- tried half a cookie- YUMMY!!!! MAKE THESE!!!!!!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sounds like you’ve had a crazy day. I will definitely have to try those angel delights one of these days! Boo to Ryan for being stubborn. I want to see more b. good goodies.

Comment by Lara

OMG I just woke up and I had a dream about that salad! must. get. it.

Comment by innascribbles

That workout sounds insanely awesome!! I used to take a class that started with a warm up like that. I think the warm-up was tougher than the class because there is just no warning – they start abusing you 🙂
Seriously tell Ryan this stuff is good. He can get a burger and fries – it’s not like crazy healthy 🙂 Tell him if he doesn’t like it, he can go and buy a slice of pizza or something… try bribing the boy! 😉
Glad you liked the angel delights. It’s not really that I can take credit for them, but I am glad I purchased that edition of Eating Well to find this little gem! Hope your co-workers like them!!

Comment by Elina

Elina- I tried telling Ryan about the burgers but he said he tried them before but they were “too healthy tasting” Seriously, I’m working with a tough crowd here 🙂 But I dreamt about that salad last night and lord help me I will have it soon!

Comment by innascribbles




Leave a Reply

