Inna Scribbles


Sans Snacks (all meals 01/15/09)
January 15, 2009, 5:47 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch

Today is the first day since I started posting that I have made it through the day sans snacks! Not that this is really ever an objective of mine- I don’t mind snacking as long as it’s healthy and not just mindless munching. As a result, my meals were a bit bigger than usual but I think most of the food was still pretty healthy. I am going a bit crazy not being able to go to the gym these past two days (thanks to prison visits) and knowing that I can’t go this weekend (we’re going to DC!). But I’ll just start going full force again next week and hope that’ll make me feel better.

Breakfast:

My biggest priority with breakfast was making it substantial enough to hold me over for quite a while- I had no idea how long my visits would last and when I’d be able to eat after breakfast. I made myself a yogurt mixture again- 1/2 cup nonfat greek yogurt (fage 0%), 1/4 cup trail mix, 1/4 banana, and some blueberries. For extra staying power I added a scoop of peanut butter. I know this sounds like a weird combo (and I think it is too!) but I remember reading about it on some other blog AGES ago and thinking it would be a good way to bulk up my morning yogurt meal if I ever needed it. Today was the day to try it and it actually worked really well! I ate around 7:45 am and was fine waiting for lunch until 1:00 pm. Sorry about the picture- I should have taken it before I mixed almost everything together!

cimg28001

Lunch:

I packed an emergency lunch just like yesterday but thankfully it didn’t come to that. I’m pretty sure it will tomorrow because I have like 7 different guys to see + a tour of the facility but today I got lucky! I was out of the prison by around 12:00 pm and home by 1:00-ish. I made myself a quick lunch of a salad (spring mix, bell pepper, red onion, and a slice of turkey dressed with rice vinegar) and some trader joe’s chicken and veggie gyoza potstickers which I dipped in a tiny bit of the gyoza dipping sauce. It was delicious and filled me right up!

cimg2821

Though I was full, I was craving something sweet in my moouth so I finished lunch off with a clementine and 4 little “raspberry” candy things that Ryan’s parents sent us in a package.

cimg2823

Dinner:

It’s freezing in Boston right now so I started my dinner with a little bowl of my mushroom flavored broth- yummy and a nice way to warm up!

cimg2824

Dinner last night was so delicious I couldn’t stop thinking about it and all I wanted for dinner was the same thing again! So I whipped up some flounder in the exact same way as last night (encrusted in whole wheat flour and sauteed with salt, pepper, and lemon juice) and had green beans on the side (sauteed with salt, pepper, garlic, soyaki sauce, and sprinkled with sesame seeds). I also had a dollop of the “guilt free” mashed potatoes I made for Ryan- seriously for mashed potatoes which are among my favorite comfort food these aren’t bad at all! The whole pot had 1 potato, about 1 tablespoon of 1% milk, and 1/2 tablespoon of smart balance. I ate maybe 1/10th? That’s Ryan’s guess. I thought more like 1/8th…Either way not too much…

cimg2825

I gotta get up REALLY early tomorrow (6 am which may not be early for some but is excrutiating for me) so I’m off to bed soon- it’s going to be a LONG day! Goodnight!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Your lunch is so pretty. What is soyaki? Is it a brand?

Comment by Lara

Thanks! Soyaki is a trader joe’s sauce- i think a mix of soy sauce and teriyaki? It also tasted like there is some ginger in there, and maybe sesame seeds?- it’s a really yummy blend and definitely worth trying when you’re back in the states!

Comment by innascribbles

Oooh! I remember now 😉 I think it is actually the house brand of my Veri Veri Teriyaki! Sweeet.

Comment by Lara




Leave a Reply

