Inna Scribbles


Tradition, Tradition! (brunch 01/11/09)
January 11, 2009, 11:39 am
Filed under: Breakfast, Lunch

My family has a long standing tradition of eating Sunday brunch together. It’s something that really means a lot to me because it’s the only meal during the entire week that we all gathered and ate together. No matter what else was going on, everything was dropped for the hour and a half we all had Sunday brunch together. Sunday brunch for us always consists of the same thing: baked potatoes, lox, cheese, russian smoked fish, and  Sunday brunch salad (cucumber, pepper, tomato, and onion dressed with a little bit of EVOO and some white vinegar and seasoned with s&p). I know this may sound like a weird combo of foods but I’ve been having it for so long I really can’t imagine anything more delicious! Since Ryan and I have moved to Boston I have tried to continue this tradition with our little family as much as I can- I often get tied up with other stuff and don’t make it but every time I do I’m so happy I took the time!

I woke up around 11 this morning after a LONG night of sleep and decided it was a perfect morning for Sunday brunch. I know it takes a little while to make and I was feeling munchy so I snacked on a clementine before getting started:

cimg2730

I then popped the potatoes in the oven (500 degrees for about an hour gets the skin perfectly crispy which is just how I like it!) and went to work on chopping stuff for the salad and  laying out the lox and cheese (reduced fat provolone for me, extra sharp cheddar for Ryan). I don’t know where the nearest Russian store is so I’ve been skipping the Russian smoked fish (I don’t actually like it anyway and it’s super fatty). Around 12:30 we were ready to eat. Here’s the whole spread!

cimg2732

For a really long time now (ever since high school or maybe even before) I’ve been using my baked potato to make what I always call “potato boats” but they’re kind of like a healthier version of potato skins. I cut the potato in half lengthwise and scoop out all of the insides of the potato into a separate bowl (at home my dad and/or dog gets the eat that). After I’m done scooping all that’s left is the potato skin and now I have a little “boat” to work with and fill up with goodies! I start with a thin layer of ranch (not so healthy but key in the delicious department), then a piece of lox, then a piece of cheese, and then top it off with the salad. Here’s what my little boats look like all done:

cimg2733

My family always makes fun of me for taking my sweet time to lovingly prepare each little boat. They mock for me insisting on that order (ranch–> lox–> cheese–> salad)  and handling it with such care but somehow over the years both my mom and best friend who often comes over for Sunday brunch have started making my little boats too! Who’s laughing now, eh? 🙂 I had three of these guys. I’ve never been a huge fan of the inside of a baked potato so this works perfect for me! Plus, the skin is where most of the vitamins are, right?

After brunch I had two little calcium chews- I try to remember to take them every day but as you can see  by my other posts I haven’t been doing a very good job!

cimg2735

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Aww-what a nice post 🙂 Thank you for sharing your family traditions! I love your little boats, seems like they pack a lot of flavor.

Comment by Lara

I just love that there’s so many different textures and flavors in them! you should try them sometime- it really doesn’t matter what you put in them- just whatever you have on hand works! it’s a great gather whatever you have on hand type of meal!

Comment by innascribbles

Calcium Chews!!!!!

Comment by Ryan

[…] a great night out last night, slept in until 10:30, and woke up knowing I was going to make my yumy potato boats for brunch. Not a bad start to the day, […]

Pingback by (brunch + snack 01/25/09) « Inna Scribbles




Leave a Reply

