Inna Scribbles


I Have To Admit It’s Getting Better, It’s Getting Better All The Time (all meals 01/10/09)
January 10, 2009, 4:17 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals

Today was a bit better than yesterday- we got the car fixed (huge relief) and took care of some much needed errands. The one big bummer of the day was discovering that my ipod was stolen from the car- in all the chaos of yesterday I didn’t even notice! This is a pretty big loss for me because last year my computer crashed and I lost all my music on that, so my ipod was the only place I had it stored, and now that’s gone too šŸ˜¦ In the large scheme of things I know it’s not that big of a deal- everything that got stolen/broken is replaceable- but it just put kind of a damper on the weekend.

The food today was a bit scattered and weird with me being out of the house throughout various parts of the day. Early this morning before running out to drop the car off at the shop I grabbed an apple:

cimg27041

Breakfast:

I returned home about an hour later and after bumming around for a bit I decided it was time for breakfast. Since I had more time than usual I decided to make myself an egg white omelet- the one Matt made for Lara the other day looked so good and I really wanted one! I loaded it up with veggies-red onion, red bell pepper, and mushrooms, and added 1/3 cup of egg whites (60 cals worth) to the mix. I also melted some skim mozarella cheese onto it- 1/4 cup (45 cals)- and topped the whole thing off with some salsa. It got a little burned (I think I didn’t spray the pan enough) but to be honest I kind of like it that way and thought the whole meal was super delicious! This is definitely one of those meals that’s SUPER filling for pretty few calories. I finished the meal off with a clementine- I have a huge box of them in my fridge so plan on seeing them a lot!

cimg27061

cimg27091

Snacks

After picking up the car from the shop I made a Costco/Trader Joe’s run. The stores were so crowded! I’m assuming people want to stock up because of the impending storm- the lines were ridiculous! At Costco I tried a sample of “rice crackers with nuts” (two samples actually- yummy!) and at Trader Joe’s a tried a tiny sample of their cheese pizza. I’m usually not huge on samples at stores but I think it was getting to be around lunchtime and my tummy was grumbly. No pictures of the samples- they were teeny tiny and I felt weird whipping out my camera in the middle of the store- sorry!

When I got back to the car I had a snack of three dates- I bought a packet dates from Costco in anticipation of making a recipe Elina posted for Angel Delight Cookies. I’ve made these before and they are SO GOOD. Seriously. If you have not made them before do yourself a favor.

cimg27111

Lunch/Dinner

I didn’t end up getting home until 3ish and decided to just have a linner. I ate around 5ish…On the menu for linner was a salad. The salad had a million things in it (spring salad mix, cucumber, red onion, cherry tomatoes, yellow bell pepper, sauteed mushrooms, 1/4 cup skim mozarella, and a bit of a chicken breast I spiced up and sauteed). I even have some leftover chicken breast to toss onto a salad or something later this week! I dressed the salad with a drizzle of EVOO and some rice vinegar. I had about half of what is pictured

cimg27151

Along with the salad I had a bowl of homemade mushroom soup (completely water based- no milk or cream involved!)Ā  I’ll post the recipe for this sometime soon- I think it’s really really delicious. I don’t really like eating what goes INTO the soup- just the broth really (i’m a big broth gal) so this is mainly deliciously spiced mushroom flavored water šŸ™‚ I thought this picture was cool- you can see all the steam rising from the bowl!

cimg27211

Dessert was some grapes and a pear- that nectarine scared me off yesterday! Not sure if we got a bad batch or I just got a bad one from the batch but I’m not about to try again for a day or two!

cimg27221cimg27231

About two hours after dinner I got snacky. And I’m usually not one to ignore feeling snacky šŸ™‚ I looked back at what I had eaten and saw that I was quite light on calories for the day and hadn’t yet had any grains so I made myself a 100 calorie pack of popcorn. Delicious but sad because I took it out way to early and about half the kernels hadnt popped yet- what a waste!

cimg27261

It’s about 8 pm and I think I’m done for the day but we’ll see- I’ll post if I decide I need to eat something else. Hope you had a good Saturday!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This looks a lot better than what I had today. You’re Mufasa’s Boy!!

Comment by Ryan

Thanks for the shout-out, Inna! I still can’t believe this whole car fiasco. Definitely, I am around today so I will try you later this afternoon.
Your omelet looks delish and your eating in general is so low cal! šŸ™‚

Comment by Lara

Thanks Lara! If anything, blogging my food intake is making me so much aware of the tons of mindless snacking I was doing- I’ll reach over for something and then go for my camera and think “wow, I really don’t actually want that at all!” So I think I’m ending up eating less calories than usual but not really intentionally.
Can’t wait to chat this afternoon! xx

Comment by innascribbles

Oh no, sorry to hear about your ipod being stolen! Mine was stolen last year too, and it had all of my pictures in my wedding dress (from the trial) and I just felt so violated!
Let us know how the angel delights come out this time! šŸ™‚

Comment by Elina

Thanks for the sympathy Elina…it really does feel pretty violating that someone was in my space without my permission.

I’ll definitely post when I make the angel delights again- I’m planning to make them for work! I get the fun of baking without the temptation of leaving them around the house- best of both worlds! Last time I made them I made two batches for a family gathering and got rave reviews- your tip to make sure to cut up the dates more finely and wait for it to really become a paste helped a ton!

Comment by innascribbles




Leave a Reply

