Inna Scribbles


First Post! (all meals 01/08/09)
January 6, 2009, 5:36 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals, Snack

This is my first venture EVER into the blog world- I’m so excited! I’ve been toying with the idea of starting a blog for quite some time now, so I’m happy to see it finally materializing! I first started thinking about creating a food/fitness blog when a friend of mine created oneย  about a year ago and told me about her really positive experiences with it (and the blogging community in general), but I’ve wavered back and forth for quite some time. I decided to give it a test run and see how it goes- most people who do it love it so I hope I will too. Without further ado, let’s good to the food!

Breakfast:

I started my morning off with a bowl of nonfat Greek yogurt (Fage 0%) topped with some deliciousness. In the bowl: 1/2 cup yogurt, 1/4 cup trail mix, and a few frozen blueberries

cimg26554

Around 11 am I decided to have my midmorning snack. I tend to eat lunch later than most people (usually around 1:30-2:00 pm because I often take gym classes at “typical” lunch hours) so I really need something to get me through until then. Today’s morning snack was some yummy edamame:

cimg26601

Workout:

I love my thursday gym class- steps! I know it’s kind of funny and 80’s and whatnot, but it’s a great workout with a great instructor who plays great music and makes me sweat greatly ๐Ÿ™‚ The class is 45 minutes but that that is way more than enough for me- it’s killer! After 45 minutes of intense cardio and sweating my ass off (attractive, I know), I completed my workout session with bicep curls (15 reps x 3), tricep dips (15 reps x 3) and some ab exercises (15 reps x 3).

Lunch:

cimg26612

Lunch was on the small side today, hence the need for an afternoon snack, but I’ll get to that later. I brought a salad in from home. In the mix is: mixed greens, arugula, cherry tomatoes, 1/4 cup skim mozzarella (45 cals worth), 6 slices of paper thin turkey (50 cals worth), and some silvered almonds (45 cals worth). I topped it with about a tablespoon of balsamic vinaigrette. For some reason I wasn’t really feeling the salad today (maybe because it’s my 3rd time bringing in this same salad just this week!) so I ate just over half of what is pictured. And it wasn’t very caloric/filling to begin with so I didn’t think it would hold me over too long (and I was right!). I finished lunch off with a clementine and an apple- yummy!

cimg26651

Afternoon snack:

cimg26661

I got hungry again about an hour and a half after lunch (not surprising) so I reached into my snack drawer and pulled out a 100-calorie pack of popcorn. It’s my first time trying it and I gotta tell you, it’s pretty delicious. And you get a lot of bank for your buck with these little packets! I was totally satisfied and full after eating this, and it was only 100 cals!

Dinner:

Dinner tonight was delicious, and it was all thanks to Elina’s post of a recipe for sweet-spicy glazed salmon. I love salmon, and Elina raved about this recipe for it, so I knew I had to try it and I am SO GLAD I did. The salmon was absolutely delicious- Ryan and I both LOVED it and will definitely be making it again. I served the salmon over a bed of arugula that was drizzled with some balsamic vinegar, some cherry tomatoes, and silvered almonds. Super duper duper yummy. I ate about 2/3 of what you see pictured here, partly because I was getting full but mainly because I had to save room for dessert!

cimg2669

Dessert came in two parts. First, a grapefruit:

cimg2678

And second (and yummiest!) a little piece of tiramisu. Yesterday was my birthday, and Ryan got me a box with two little piece of it because he knows it’s one of my favorite desserts!The nutritional info on this baby actually isn’t too bad as far as this stuff goes: the box it came said the whole thing was 190 cals, and I had half tonight- so 95 cals. Could be way worse! Plus, I was too full after my birthday dinner yesterday to get any dessert, so I knew I’d be making up for it tonight!

cimg2680

And thus concludes my first post! Night! ๐Ÿ™‚

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Congrats on starting your own blog! So glad you loved the salmon!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by Elina

Thanks Elina! And there’s a lot more delicious eats I’ve been eyeing on your blog and putting on my “to make” list, so expect more thanks in the very near future!

Comment by innascribbles

Congratulations on your first post Babe. The vinaigrette drizzled around the salmon is some of your best work.

Comment by Ryan

Miss Inna, I LOVE it! ๐Ÿ™‚ I especially like the categorization of “meals,” I might have to take a tip on that one. The salmon is beautiful; I have been wanting to try that too. Did you use the hot Chinese mustard or just dijon?

Comment by Lara

Lara- so glad you like it! Thanks for all the encouragement in this- you know I could not and would not have done this without you ๐Ÿ™‚
Feel free to “steal” any categorizations you like! Ryan set it all up so I have no idea how to do it but I’m sure he could tell you if you don’t know how…I did, after all, steal this whole blog idea from you! ๐Ÿ™‚
The salmon is DEFINITELY worth trying. I just used dijon mustard but it will still super tasty!

Comment by innascribbles

Thanks love- glad you liked it!

Comment by innascribbles




Leave a Reply

